Homemade Hairspray

Today, as one of my students was telling me the name of the color of her nail polish, it jogged my memory. 

“I need to get hairspray,” I said to myself, under my breath.

“Hairspray is bad for the environment,” she replied. 

“Not the kind I buy.  I get it online,” I stated, hoping she would ask me what kind so I could explain why I like Honeybee Gardens.

“What about the fossil fuels burned with shipping?” she asked.  I guess she has been listening to at least some of what I’ve said this year.  “You should make your own.”

“Maybe I will.  Ask me about it tomorrow.”  So, after a few Googles, I’m trying my own recipe.  I’m not sure if it will work or not, but it’s worth a try.

Homemade Hairspray

  • 2 lemons, cut into 8 pieces each
  • 1 orange, cut into 8 pieces
  • 3 cups of water

Combine the ingredients in a saucepan, and boil for about an hour.  Let the mixture cool, then strain it and pour into a spray bottle.  The recipe says it should keep in the fridge for a week, but I really see no reason why it won’t keep longer.  It also says to add some rubbing alcohol to help preserve it, but I’m going to try without it first.

I’m not sure how this compares with the fossil fuels used to transport hairspray to me, seeing as the citrus is from Florida.  However, there are no artifical fragrances or other ingredients, so I think it might be worth it.  I also wonder if this is a nice way for me to get some natural summer highlights.  As for having to make my own hairspray every week, that’s a little much.  I’ll see how long it keeps, and if it doesn’t work after a week, I think I’ll just buy some more natural hairspray.  Afterall, I only use about 1 bottle in a year.

 

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Sustainable Living

3 responses to “Homemade Hairspray

  1. Mom

    Isn’t it nice when a students ask a question that makes you realize you HAVE made a difference?!?! That student sounds like YOU, Abbie!

  2. farmersdaughterct

    OK… so the hairspray didn’t go over so well. It’s sticky when I get it on my hands, but not so much in my hair. I spent today with my hair in my face. I’m going to order some natural hairspray from honeybeegardens.com

  3. Well at least your photo of the orange concoction looks pretty. And thank you for being honest about the results. I was “this” close to writing down the recipe to give it a whirl.

Leave a Reply

