Transition

Sunday Stroll

August 31, 2008

Walking around this morning, I couldn’t help but notice that we’re in transition.  While some views show a bountiful summer, others make me realize that we’re leaving summer and heading to fall.

The roses are more abundant than ever before.

The roses are more abundant than ever before.

Clear blue skies and a bright yellow sunflower.

Clear blue skies and a bright yellow sunflower.

Prolific sunflowers.

Prolific sunflowers.

Morning glories blooming on top of each other.

Morning glories blooming on top of each other.

Frilly red lettuce.

Frilly red lettuce.

Bright green and blue-green lichen.

Bright green and blue-green lichen.

Warmth this winter.

Warmth for the winter.

An old antler that appeared on the edge of the woods.

An old antler that appeared on the edge of the woods.

 To see who else is strolling today, visit The Quiet Country House.

6 Comments

Filed under Gardening, Home, Outside

6 responses to “Transition

  1. Great photos, Abbie. I always enjoy the sight of a bright yellow sunflower against a clear blue sky. We have a similar pile of “warmth for the winter” waiting to be cut and stacked! :)

    Thanks for strolling today.

  2. Yes, we clearly are in transition. Ready or not, fall is on the way! I noticed the same thing strolling the farm this morning.

    I bet Duke would love to play with that antler!

    I just LOVE the true blue of your morning glories!

  3. P.S. LOVE the choice of your bright sunflower photo for your new masthead!!!

  4. I love the photos! Oh, it is so sad and yet so lovely to say farewell to summer. I imagine it is cooling off in Connecticut. Here in Virginia we’ll likely wear short and tees for a few more weeks, at least til the end of September. Still, our leaves are turning and falling. Anyway, love this post and your photos.

  5. farmersdaughterct

    Hi Aisling- I’m really enjoying the time I spend taking pictures for the Sunday Stroll. I honestly can’t wait until the leaves are at their peak color, and then I can’t wait for snow! The photos will be so pretty.

    Mom- Ed told me he found the antler in the woods close by and put it there, thinking that kids would find it at our party and be excited. Well, kids didn’t find it, but I did, haha! He had to laugh.

    Jessica- It really hasn’t cooled off that much. It’s been in the 80’s, and it’s supposed to be bright and sunny this week.

  6. I like the lichen on the logs. Nice shot!

Leave a Reply

