Berry Patch Plans

berry-patch-plans

Happy New Year! I’m not making resolutions for myself, I’m making plans instead.  I posted the other day about putting in a little orchard starting with about 6 apple trees, and I’ve mentioned getting a couple of laying hens, but today I’m thinking about berries.

The snowy, wind-whipped section of our backyard above is where I want to plant a berry patch.  Here’s what it will include:

  • 3 Heritage Red Raspberries
  • 3 Jewel Black Raspberries
  • 3 Anne Raspberries (white)
  • 2 Royal Purple Raspberries
  • 2 Saskatoon Blueberries
  • 1 Boysenberry
  • 1 Huckleberry

I’ve selected berries that are supposed to be good for smaller, home gardens and that will be ripe at different times, to spread them out over the summer and until the first frost.  I was planning to skip blueberries, since they need more acidic soil, and I’ve had trouble keeping my hydrangeas blue (although the purple they’ve turned has been pretty).  However, Saskatoon blueberries are not true blueberries, and therefore don’t need the acidic soil.  I figured it couldn’t hurt to give them a try.

My mom reminded me how much I hated picking up the cut off raspberry brambles each year.  But, I guess like with most things, the memory of the sweet berries overshadowed the memory of the sharp thorns.  Not to mention that our patch will be much smaller than the one on the farm.

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Gardening, Home, Outside, Sustainable Living

2 responses to “Berry Patch Plans

  1. Sounds like a “sweet” plan! The next job will probably be to plan how to outsmart the birds. Somehow they always know when the berries are perfectly ripe for the picking, even before humans!

  2. Jealous, jealous, jealous!! My berries didn’t do se well last year but I suspect they didn’t get enough sun. I’m trying to find a place to put them this year.

    As to planting something that you used to hate picking up, boy things change once we grow up, huh? I grew up on a acre of land with a small orchard, berry patch and raised beds. My parents always had us out gardening on the weekends and I complained so much. Much more than my sisters and basically never accomplished anything out there but belly-aching. Now I’m the only one with a garden. Go figure. ;-)

    Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

