Bumbleberry Cobbler

bumbleberry-cobbler-green-garlic-dipping-oil-bouillabaisse-009As far as I know, there’s no such thing as a bumbleberry.  I think it’s a term used to name a mixture of berries or a wild berry that you don’t know the name of.  Anyway, you can use any mixture of berries for this dessert, and today I used some raspberries and blueberries that I froze last summer.  When I think about the berry patch I’ll plant this spring, I imagine making lots of cobblers, pies, crisps, jams, jellies, and freezing berries so we can eat them all winter long.

  • about 1 1/2 quarts (3 pints) of mixed berries
  • 3 Tbsp sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 stick cold butter, diced
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • pinch of sugar for sprinkling

Combine berries with 3 Tbsp sugar, pour into a baking dish.  Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and sugar in a large bowl.  Crumble the butter into the dry ingredients using your fingers.  Mix the egg and buttermilk, then pour into the dry ingredients, reserving about 1 Tbsp of the egg/buttermilk mixture.  Stir to combine, then knead gently.  Form into about 9 biscuits and place on top of the berries.  Brush the egg/buttermilk mixture thinly on top of the biscuits, then sprinkle sugar on top of the biscuits.  Bake at 350°F for 35-45 minutes, until the biscuits are golden brown and the berries are bubbling up around them.  Serve warm with sweetened whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.

bumbleberry-cobbler-green-garlic-dipping-oil-bouillabaisse-013

5 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes, Sustainable Living

5 responses to “Bumbleberry Cobbler

  1. whats4lunch

    I love cobbler, specifically wild-blackberry. I like the ice cream idea.

  2. limeandlemon

    Looks really delicious .. Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com/

  3. Ruth

    Yum, yum! Any leftovers? Bet not!

  4. Why oh why are you posting something like this! Darn it. I’m trying to lose weight and now you’ve got my digging through my freezer for the raspberries and blueberries I froze last summer. For the kids, of course! ;-)

  5. I love cobblers and crumbles too. We have a strawberry patch and a handful of blackberry bushes going in this year. I’m thinking ahead too, craving wonderful fresh berries.

Leave a Reply

