Homemade Ranch Dressing

 sunday-cooking-041

I’m really starting to like the homemade version better than the store-bought, since I can put in the seasonings as I like them.

  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1 Tbsp chopped fresh chives
  • 1-2 Tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • 3/4 cup mayonaise
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • dash paprika
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk, more or less

Mince the garlic, sprinkle it with salt and then mash it with the side of your knife into a fine paste.  Combine the garlic, chives, parsley, mayonaise, sour cream, salt, pepper and paprika in a bowl.  Stir in the buttermilk until it reaches the desired thickness.  Pour into a mason jar and refrigerate.  It will keep up to one week, if it lasts that long.

3 Comments

Filed under Food, Living from Scratch, Recipes, Sustainable Living

3 responses to “Homemade Ranch Dressing

  1. Rob

    Cool recipe! I never thought of making ranch dressing- I always thought Uncle Dan made it in th little foil pouch. Cool- one less platic wrap foil pouch in the house!

  2. Tia

    Ohh. Thank you so much! I have been trying to come up with a ranch dressing recipe for my kids as they will put it on ANYTHING. And I do mean anything, my 6 year old daughter was dipping shredded wheat in it the other day. *urp*

    Anyway…the bottles in glass are so very expensive and I try not to buy plastic so you are a lifesaver! The kids and I are going to make this tonight. : )

  3. I used your recipe pretty much as written, and my husband loved it! Once I ran out of fresh herbs, I tried experimenting. Now I use fines herbs, dried minced onion, and parsley flakes.

    Some of my guests are trying to lose weight, so now I use equal parts lowfat plain yogurt, light sour cream, and mayo. Still tastes great!

    Thanks so much for the inspiration; you gave me just what I needed!

Leave a Reply

