Bleeding Hearts in a Mason Jar

bleeding hearts 011

The bleeding hearts are taking over my back garden.  I love their pretty white blooms, and I’ve considered planting their hot pink counterparts, too.  But they’re problematic because they’re starting to crowd their neighboring hydrangeas, a white one and a pink one.  So, I grabbed the clippers and a mason jar and headed out to trim them back.

bleeding hearts 016

After I arranged them, I realized that I didn’t know if they’d hold up in a vase.  I asked my mother-in-law and soon found out that she loves to use these flowers in bridal bouquets, and that they should last well as cut flowers.  That made me happy, because I’d hate to cut these flowers to have them die in only a few days.  And I’m notorious for leaving dead flowers hanging around in my house.  I’ve got some dead daffodils in my bathroom right now.

bleeding hearts 017

I’m not sure why, but mason jars have become my favorite vase for flowers.  They just looks so much better than those crystal vases I got as wedding presents when I’m using flowers I cut from my own garden. 

bleeding hearts 013

Have you ever had to deal with a pretty plant that got a little bit out of control?

6 Comments

Filed under Gardening, Home, Living from Scratch, Outside, Sustainable Living

6 responses to “Bleeding Hearts in a Mason Jar

  1. Those pure white blossoms are simply perfect! I have the red/pink variety just starting to bloom in my garden right now. The plants are young and still fairly small so I have not had to deal with cutting them back. I look forward to that problem some years down the road!

    Great photos, and I agree with you about Mason Jars as vases. What could be better than such homespun prettiness?

  2. My own struggles are with dandelions. The kids love the flowers, especially when they go to seed, but they’re impossible to get rid of. Oh, and mint, which isn’t a flower but is basically a weed. Luckily it smells good.

    And I like the look of a mason jar, too. It seems more homey somehow. :)

  3. Beautiful! I love it! All your pictures make me want to grow flowers even though I never have.

  4. I was so excited to discover that we have both the white and pink bleeding hearts growing at our new house. It’s an adventure to discover what is growing there. I’m glad to know they will spread- where they are could use something more.

  5. Gorgeous. If they’re a real problem, I’ll gladly take them off your hands, :-)

  6. Just beautiful!

    I agree with Amber . . . mint is the only thing that I’ve found that really TAKES OVER my garden!

Leave a Reply

