Blueberry Jam Crumb Bars

blueberry jam crumb bars 001

It was Saturday night at 8:00, and I wanted to make something to bring to my aunt’s house for brunch the next morning.  It had to be fast and easy, so I was thinking blueberry oat bars, using up some of the abundance of blueberry jam in the pantry.  We’ve only got one jar of strawberry jam left, which is perfect because June is strawberry season around here, but there’s a whole bunch of blueberry jam in there.  However, upon looking in the pantry I realized that I had no oats, so I had to nix the oat bar idea. 

I started searching for blueberry bar recipes, and I found this blueberry crumb bar recipe at Smitten Kitchen, which looked fantastic.  The only problem was that it was made with fresh blueberries, of which I have none.  I’m even out of frozen Maine berries.  It’s late spring, that’s what happens.  So, I tweaked the recipe a bit and decided to make them with jam, although I must admit I’m very excited to try the fresh berry version this summer.

Blueberry Jam Crumb Bars

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 sticks butter, diced
  • 1 egg
  • 1 pint blueberry jam

Preheat the oven to 350° and grease a 9×13″ baking pan using the wrapper of the butter (that’s a neat little trick I picked up somewhere).  Combine the flour, sugar, baking powder and cinnamon in a bowl.  Blend in the butter and egg using your fingers.  Pat half of the mixture into the baking pan, pressing firmly.  Spread on the jam evenly, then sprinkle on the remaining crumbs.  Bake for 45 minutes until nicely browned.  Cool completely and then slice.

I can imagine making these with strawberry jam, peach jam, or even apple butter.  I’m thinking this recipe is a great way to use up those extra jars of jam in the pantry before the fresh fruit is back.

Do you have any recipes to use up extra jam?

3 Comments

Filed under Food, Living from Scratch, Sustainable Living

3 responses to “Blueberry Jam Crumb Bars

  1. retrohousewifegoesgreen

    Yummy!

  2. Apple butter it is!! I went a little crazy on the apple butter front last fall and this seems the perfect way to “use it up.” Such a sacrifice! ;-)

  3. Wow I can’t believe I’ve never commented on these. They rock!! I’ve got some in the oven with blueberry pie filling right now. I usually make them with apple pie filling or applesauce and they are sooo good. Thanks for sharing! :)

Leave a Reply

