Strawberry Pie

Thanks to everyone for all your thoughtful comments on my last post.  I must admit that finals time at school is keeping me from responding intelligently to each of you.  I also recognize that I must have been in a sour mood yesterday! Yikes!

To make up for it, I’m posting a sweet recipe today.  We’re having a little celebration tomorrow in the science department and I volunteered to bring a pie.  I’ve entered a berry pie contest in two weeks, so I’m testing out this recipe on the crowd.

strawberry pie 007

  • dough for 2 crusted pie
  • 1 1/2 quarts hulled, chopped strawberries
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 4 heaping Tbsp cornstarch
  • pinch salt

Roll out the bottom crust and line the pie pan with it.  Combine berries, sugar, cornstarch and salt in a bowl and stir to combine.  Pour into the bottom crust.  Roll out the remaining crust, slice into strips and arrange in a lattice pattern.  Bake at 350° for 1 hour or more until the filling is bubbly and crust is lightly browned.

10 Comments

Filed under Food, Living from Scratch, Local Agriculture, Recipes

10 responses to “Strawberry Pie

  1. Jena

    What a beautiful pie. Delicious too, but plain good to look at!!
    Okay when you say chopped does that mean cut in chunks or slices or what? If berries are out we’re going to pick on Saturday.

  2. I typically hull them and quarter them, unless they’re big. Yeah, I guess cut in chunks describes it best. I agree, it’s almost too pretty to eat. Almost…

  3. Ed

    My mother always used a little tapioca in her pies to keep them from running over.

  4. Tanja

    Hi,
    I am so excited to try this as my 3 sons and I have just picked 3 baskets full of fresh strawberries. I live in Canada and today is Canada Day and will be bringing pie and whipped cream in for a treat for my co-workers. Even though today is a holiday, it is still a work day. I work for an esential srevice so 24/7 – 365 days a year.
    Your photos are beautiful and my kids love the animals on your farm. Reminds them of their Nanny and Grampy’s on the east coast (Nova Scotia) Take care and enjoy July 4th!!!

  5. Um, quick question: can I use frozen strawberries in this? I still have tons that are hulled and chopped and ready to go, but I haven’t done anything with them yet. Ideas? Should I add more cornstarch?

  6. Andrea

    Hello, I just found this recipe & I’m wondering what you use to make your pie crust? Each time I try to make pie crust, it never seems right. Too bland, not sweet enough, etc. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks ;)

    • I just use:
      1 1/3 cups flour
      1½ tablespoons sugar
      1 stick butter
      1 dash salt
      3 tablespoons cold water

      Sift the flour, sugar and salt together. Now cut the butter into small chunks. Make sure it’s nice and cold or it will stick to your knife. Cut the butter into the flour and sugar until coarse crumbs form.Add the cold water and quickly form it into a dough. If the butter has gotten warm by this time, or if it’s especially warm in your kitchen, you might want to put the flour/butter mixture in the freezer for 10-15 minutes before adding the water and making the dough. Once you’ve made the dough, transfer it to a one gallon zip-top bag and put in the refrigerator for at least a half-hour. You need this time for the water to soak into the flour. Otherwise it will just steam out when you bake it. Take the dough out and roll it into a circle, still in the bag. Most one-gallon bags are just about nine inches across, which is exactly how big you want the crust to be. This also saves you from having to put flour on the table and rolling pin, and dealing with the cleanup afterwards.

Leave a Reply

