Ruth’s Maine Blueberry Glaze Pie

blueberry pie 004

Ruth is a family friend who lives in Maine.  She’s the grandma in a big family full of lobster fishermen and she reminds me a lot of my Great-Grandma Rose.  I love spending time in Ruth’s kitchen, visiting, eating delicious treats, and playing games late into the night. 

This pie has to be made with fresh blueberries, which makes it all the more special.  Ruth uses wild Maine blueberries, but you can try it with whatever kind of blueberries you have.  Ed’s mom was nice enough to bring home some wild Maine blueberries for me, so I’m using them today.  The measurements here aren’t all exact, which makes me think of Great-Grandma Rose’s recipes even more.  I’m sure you’ll be able to figure it out!

blueberry pie 007

Ruth’s Maine Blueberry Glaze Pie

  • pre-baked and cooled pie shell
  • cream cheese
  • fresh blueberries
  • glaze*
  • sweetened whipped cream

*To make the glaze:

  • Simmer 2/3 cups blueberries and 1 cup water for 5 minutes
  • In a bowl, combine 1 cup sugar, 3 rounded Tbsp cornstarch, 1/2 cup water.
  • Add the sugar mixture to the simmering blueberries and cook, stirring, until thickened.
  • Cool.

To assemble the pie:

  • Spread the baked, cooled pie shell with a thin layer of softened cream cheese.  Just enough to smooth over the bottom of the shell so it keeps the crust from getting soggy (Note: I was out of cream cheese so I skipped this part today, but I really do like it and I’ll be sure to remember it for next time!)
  • Spread a layer of glaze over the cream cheese, then a layer of fresh blueberries.  Continue alternating until the pie is full, and end with a layer of fresh blueberries.
  • Cool in the fridge.
  • Top with fresh whipped cream and serve.
10 Comments

Filed under Food, Living from Scratch, Recipes

10 responses to “Ruth’s Maine Blueberry Glaze Pie

  1. Rob

    Now thats what I am talking about – PIE!
    Sign me as -
    One who sits on Abbey’s blog page with drool coming out of my mouth ;P

  2. Yum, I just picked more blueberries, this will be perfect! Thanks for the recipe :)

  3. MMM, that looks delicious.

  4. Pingback: there are two blueberries-to-be on my blueberry plant… « gardening in heels

  5. leisa

    OMG that looks absolutely amazing! I hope one day I can have a harvest to make this.

  6. Abbie,

    I, too, have fond memories in Ruth’s kitchen in Maine, playing Farkle, and nibbling on her home-made treats: those luscious coconut candy bars!

    I can see the resemblance to your great-grandma Rose. I also felt that, in Ruth’s home.

    How lovely that she shared her recipe with you and that you shared your pie with us! Thank you!

    It’s also kind of funny that we share the same first name. When I was a kid growing up, I really didn’t like my name and only knew grandmothers and older women named “Ruth.” Now I guess I’m one of these “older” women!

  7. leisa

    I’ll have to find a good farmers market – I’m sure there should be some nearby, I just can’t seem to find when they are on.

  8. That looks incredibly delicious! My boys and I have been buying local blueberries to pop into breakfast smoothies lately. My own plants don’t produce yet and I planted them a couple of years ago. I’m on the prowl for a good organic bloom-booster (blooms = fruit!) so if you know of anything, let me know!

    ~ Aisling (who suddenly wishes she had enough blueberries left for pie!)

  9. This looks great, because the focus is on the berries themselves. I like that it is “pure”! Awesome!

  10. I better not tell my husband about this recipe. He’s a baking nutball and we have tons of blueberries to spare!

Leave a Reply

