My Students Need Your Help!

Here’s a call to all the greenies out there!

I’m totally re-vamping my college-bound environmental science curriculum this year, and I’m looking for cool, exciting resources in this last week before I go back to school.  If you know of any interactive websites, articles, outdoor activities, contests, video clips or anything else my students may benefit from, I’d love to hear from you!

Our major units of study for the year include:

I. Water, Soil and Air

II. Agriculture

III. Waste Management and Recycling

IV. Energy: Fossil Fuels, Nuclear and Alternatives

V. Biodiversity, Biomes, Endangered Species

If you know of anything on these topics, please leave a comment.  I know eco-bloggers are wonderful resources, so I’m counting on you!

10 Comments

Filed under Outside, Sustainable Living

10 responses to “My Students Need Your Help!

  1. I see you’re back in school mode, Ab!

    Dad made a funny comment last night. He said, “I don’t know how you do it.”

    “What?” I asked.

    “Have a lifetime of starting school each September.” (Actually August.)

    Seems Dad didn’t like that so much as a kid. I told him how exciting it is, a chance for new beginnings, new goals, new adventures. I guess that’s why he’s not a teacher and we are!

    How are YOU feeling about the new school year?

  2. I will keep my eye and ears open for ideas re:students. I think we may be kinderd spirits. Check out hoovesandhounds.blogspot.com

  3. While I do not have a clear environmental example I would like to suggest helping out a poor people group in Africa, Asia, or even America. For Example Kambata Development Network is working in Ethiopia http://www.kdneth.org

  4. Rob

    You could have a recycled art show> Get together with your art teacher and talk about it. IF there is a flower show in your area see about the students entering a display- out here at the flower and garden show the last couple of years they had a competition of recycled (junk art) for the garden- some of those kids are pretty original- my fave was fountain made out of a janitor sink. In the past they have had window box competitions as well = those kids made some great window boxes. All I have at the moment. of course their is GIANT pumpkins! Some to think of it, Bonnie plants has a deal (I am afriad it is for elementary ages) of growing cabbages- http://www.bonnieplants.com

  5. The USGS has a wonderful website for educators. You’ll have to google: Lesson plans USGS, but this would definintely cover your geological/energy component.

    Also, I would recommend finding your local Project WILD or Project WET in your state. These workshops ( which help teachers add CEUs) are normally 6 hours long, but they are so much fun, very educational, and at the end of it you will have a gaggle of ready made lesson plans approved by the Council for Environmental Education. They would be good for your Biomes, Endangered Species, and Biodiversity Programs.

    I’m a big fan of museums. Check out your local natural science museum and ask what programs they have to offer concerning any of your required topics.
    You’d be suprised at the large array of programs they offer—-all standards correlated—and that would be age appropriate for your students.

    Cooperative Extension Services for your state may be able to offer something concerning agriculture. Many have lesson plans, handouts, or other items for your classroom—-or public educators that can visit your classroom.

    Mississippi has a Department of Environmental Quality (MDEQ) which has a great website on wastemangement issues, amongst other things.
    Your state may have something similar.

    The Department of Energy will have lots of info about energy sources, but I would be cautious when looking at their materials because they do slant things toward the “pro-fossil fuel” side.

  6. Thanks for the tips folks! I’m looking for neat little websites especially, like the Global Rich List and the Eco-Footprint Calculators. Know of anything else like them?

  7. The National Wildlife Federation’s Wildlife section has detailed information on nine endangered animals along resources on broad topics including land and water.

    We used the Nature Conservancy’s Carbon Footprint Calculator to talk about some of the changes we wanted to make at home with our daughters (who are 6 and 4) to help them see the difference the changes would make. There is a bar graph at the bottom that moves to reflect the size of the footprint caused by one’s actions so it was very easy for them (and us!) to see how much difference some changes would make.

    Hope those help!

Leave a Reply

