Apple Tart

apple week 004

This tart was inspired by a cooking show, but I made up my own recipe as I went along.  It’s easier than apple pie, but I think it’s also more impressive.

  • 1 recipe pie dough
  • 3 apples, peeled, cored, and thinly sliced
  • 4 Tbsp butter
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • sprinkles of cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup cider jelly (or apple jelly)

Preheat the oven to 400°F.  Roll out the pie dough into a rough square, then trim the edges.  Arrange the apple slices diagonally, then sprinkle the sugar evenly over the top, dot with butter, and sprinkle on the cinnamon.  Bake for 50-60 minutes until the crust is golden brown and the apples are soft.  Melt the cider jelly in a small pan, then brush it over the apples to make them shiny.

5 Comments

Filed under Food, Living from Scratch, Local Agriculture, Recipes

5 responses to “Apple Tart

  1. Mmm, looks delicious. It looks like you just put it flat on a cookie sheet?

  2. Yummers. I always make apple pie (even though I’m really allergic to apples!) but this would be better because I like more crust!

  3. That looks delicious!! But I do not trust myself at making pie crust. I would DEFINITELY add too much water. Also I would not do it in a processor because I’m lazy and I hate putting those things together and then washing them.

Leave a Reply

