Autumn Relish

I have yet to find an apple pie filling recipe that I really like, so I’m sharing this recipe instead.  I tried a recipe from Hobby Farms, but it was too much glop and not enough apple for my taste.  I’m busy formulating a different recipe in my mind, and may try it next weekend.  For now, enjoy this apple-pear-cranberry-walnut relish instead.

stand 013

  • 2 cups peeled and chopped apples
  • 2 cups peeled and chopped pears
  • 12 oz. fresh cranberries
  • 2 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 cups water
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • whole cinnamon sticks
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

Combine fruit, sugar and water in a large pot.  Simmer, stirring frequently, for 15 minutes.  Stir in the nutmeg and walnuts, then cook for 5 more minutes.  Place a whole cinnamon stick in each sterilized jar, then ladle the hot relish into jars leaving 1/4″ headspace.  Process for 15 minutes in a boiling water canner.

6 Comments

Filed under Food, Living from Scratch, Local Agriculture, Recipes, Sustainable Living

6 responses to “Autumn Relish

  1. LOL I tried the Cider cinnamon Jelly recipe, so now I trust you! Will be trying this soon!

  2. PS> You don’t need to add citric acid to this???

  3. Aunt Sara

    What would you use this on? It looks delicious.

  4. Debbi

    how much did this recipe make? looks delish!

Leave a Reply

