Snowball Cookies

cookie-swap

Yesterday I mentioned that we might get some snow overnight and might possibly even have a delay.  I was surprised to look out the window this morning to see more snow than expected, and even get the call that school had been cancelled!

It’s no secret that I love snow days.  I’m like a little kid again every time there’s a storm in the forcast.  I obsessively check the weather all day, making predictions that the storm won’t come, since I don’t want to get my hopes up.  I stay up to watch the weather on the 10 o’clock news, later than normal for me.  I wake up several times throughout the night to check the status of the storm.  Then, I wake up at least an hour earlier than normal and wait for the phone call.  By the time the call comes in, I’m wide awake and so excited to have a SNOW DAY!

This time was not different, and I’ve decided to bake some snowball cookies to celebrate, and as my first contribution to my Christmas Cookie Recipe Swap.  Yes, I posted these last year, too, but they’re my all-time favorite cookies!

snowball-cookies-001

Snowball Cookies

  • 3/4 cup pecans
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into small cubes and softened
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 2/3 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cup confectioner sugar

Pulse pecans in a food processor until finely ground.  Add butter and process until smooth, about 1 minute.  Add sugar and vanilla, and pulse to combine.  Add flour and salt and pulse until a soft dough forms.  Turn dough out onto foil or plastic wrap and shape into a log, about 1 1/2 inches wide.  Wrap and refrigerate 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 325°F.  Slice log into about 24 disks, then roll into balls.  Bake for 15 minutes until slightly golden.  Dump confectioner’s sugar into a pie plate.  Briefly cool cookies on a rack, then roll in confectioner’s sugar.  Return cookies to rack and cool completely.  Roll in confectioner’s sugar again.

Just a note from personal experience, it’s impossible to sneak one of these cookies, since powdered sugar ends up everywhere.  Consider yourself warned.

If you would like to participate in the Christmas Cookie Recipe Swap, just post a recipe for cookies and send me the link! Leave a comment or email, and I’ll link to your recipe in the side bar.

7 Comments

Filed under Food, Living from Scratch, Recipes

7 responses to “Snowball Cookies

  1. goatldi

    Thank you soooooooooo much! This is the recipe I have been searching for . They must have a multitude of names they are called Mexican Wedding cookies in the big central valley here in California. Altho we no longer live in the area they remain one of my all time favorites.

    Now to whip up a batch.

  2. Yes, my mom-in-law calls them Mexican wedding cookies. Glad I could help! I love these cookies, my mom always made them when I was growing up.

    Feel free to participate in the cookie swap if you have a recipe you want to share!

  3. Oh, my absolute favorite Christmas cookie! Save me some!

    I’m jealous of your snow day, but so glad you were able to put it to such good use!

    • goatldi

      We have been hoping for a snow day but it keeps going further south, snif.

      In the SJ valley in central cal. our kids , and my husband who was an educator, had fog days. Same effect but snow would have been better!

      I will submit a cookie for exchange soon.

  4. I love these cookies! They are some of my favorite Luthern Church Basement Women cookies!!! THanks for sharing the recipe

  5. Mmmm, these look soooo good. I’m very intrigued by the short list of ingredients (being a non-cook). What is their final texture like? More crunchy or soft?

    Love your blog, by the way!

  6. Ruth

    So funny that we both posted “Snowballs” as our favorite!

Leave a Reply

