Spinach Quiche

What to make, what to make? It’s been a crazy week at work, finishing up grading final exams and starting fresh with new students.  If you’ve been following along on twitter or facebook, you know that Ed and I are sick.  I’ve been in denial, but Ed’s cold is somehow much, much worse than mine.  Neither of us is in any condition for a night out.  A quick look in the fridge and I realized I have a dozen and a half eggs, 3 half-gallons of milk (how did we get so much?), a block of cheese.  Quiche!

Ed likes meaty quiche, so I sent him into the basement to get some bacon from the freezer.  I, however, love a veggie quiche, but we’re slim on fresh veggies since I shop on the weekends.  I opened the freezer to pull out the pie shells (yes, I bought them… what do you want from me, I’m 34 weeks pregnant) and there it was! A bag of frozen creamed spinach, leftover from Christmas dinner.  I could certainly transform that into a creamy, delicous quiche.  Onions were already sauteed, spinach was already cooked and drained.  How easy!

  • 1 pre-baked pie crust, cooled
  • 1 1/2 cups leftover creamed spinach (I made Pioneer Woman’s “Creamed Spinach to Die For” recipe)
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • black pepper to taste

Spread the creamed spinach in the bottom of the pie shell.  Beat the eggs and milk together, then pour over the spinach.  Sprinkle in the cheese, then top with some black pepper.  Bake at 375ºF for 35-40 minutes.

13 Comments

Filed under Food, Living from Scratch, Recipes, What's for Supper?

13 responses to “Spinach Quiche

  1. Mmmmmmmmmm…and feel better soon, both (all three) of you!

  2. We’re not quiche fans and I didn’t have a pan that can go from stove top to oven (my cast iron frying pan was too big) so last weekend I fried up my veggies (onion, red pepper, and mushrooms) and bacon, dumped them in a quiche dish, tossed 6 scrambled eggs (with milk) on top… and tossed it into the oven. When it was set I grated some old cheddar on top.

    I was too lazy to make 2 separate omelettes in our little frying pans and it was really good.

    Comfort food.

    Hope you’re feeling better soon. Dh is ill but he’s over tired, I’m just glad the crew is gone… no more staff until May.

  3. Sorry to hear! Being sick when pregnant is the worst! We’re sick with you, if that makes you feel any better, :-) Still I think we’re going to push through and go and play out in the snow . . . we’re supposed to get a few inches today.

    By the way, the comfort food looks delish . . . Matt loves eggs and so does Annabelle, maybe we’ll give this one a whirl.

    • Hope you feel better soon, too! I’m on the mend, but Ed’s still pretty sick. Have fun in the snow! Nothing like coming in from cold weather to really get those noses running and clear out the sinuses!

  4. OMG! That looks great! Hope you are both feeling better!

  5. Maria in CT

    Easy, delicious and healthy….what more can you ask for!

  6. What happened to the Bacon? You had me at bacon, but lost me on creamed spinach (and I live spinach, I just don’t like if cooked or wilted :)

  7. Striving for a Simple Life

    Hope you and your husband are feeling better. :-)

    Your spinach quiche recipe looks yummy. I may have to get it a try on a night my son’s not home for dinner since he hates anything green and anything w/ eggs. But on the other hand, that would just leave more for me. :-)

    Stephanie

  8. YUM that looks & sounds yummy!!!

Leave a Reply

