Reducing Food Waste

I’ve signed up for Crunchy Chicken’s Food Waste Reduction Challenge this year, which starts today.  Though I’ve participated in the past, I’m going to attempt to do a better job of actually keeping track of how much food gets wasted, as opposed to just keeping a list of what gets tossed.

Why be sure not to waste food? Well, it will save you money, reduce the methane (a greenhouse gas) released by decomposing food in a landfill or in the compost, and also save on the energy it takes to ship the food to you.

Are you playing along? Don’t forget to go sign up!

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Sustainable Living

2 responses to “Reducing Food Waste

  1. I’m playing. Tonight we had portobello pizzas with yesterday’s leftover ham and bean soup. Now I have leftover tomato sauce (from the pizzas) and some braised cabbage stuff from the weekend. I’m thinking I’ll saute some kielbasa and toss it all together for a frying pan supper tomorrow. It’s like those leftovers BREED!

  2. Kudos to you! I’ll do my best to make use of all our food but I don’t want to take on too many challenges (and overwhelm myself). 2 sick kids are so generous, lol!

    Good luck with your challenge and I commend you for always doing so much for our planet, ;-)

Leave a Reply

