In the Garden: Still Preparing!

I knew this year was going to be a slow one in the garden.  After all, Joshua was born when I would typically get going in the garden, so I was a tad distracted this spring.  Anyway, we did make some progress last weekend: Ed finally brought home composted manure from his parents’ cows.  Last year, he had plenty of help ammending the garden soil, see?

soil

Adding manure to the garden last year

Who cares if I had a little trouble dumping the wheelbarrow? I was a lot more helpful last year! Looking at this old photo made me wonder if I’ll ever fit into those jeans again.  But then I remembered those jeans had a hole in the knee and I cut them up to make a skirt, which I never finished.  Oh well, no rush to lose the baby weight, then!

Back to the garden… Ed had no help from me this year, as I was busy with the baby.  I did manage to get outside and take one picture of him shoveling manure. Here it is!

But then I got distracted and instead took some pictures of the baby.  It was much more fun!

I also visited our friend’s garden center and picked up some rhubarb to replace the plant that something dug up, seed potatoes and seeds.  We plan to spend Mother’s Day getting everything planted, at my request!

How’s your garden doing?

8 Comments

Filed under Gardening, Home, Living from Scratch, Outside

8 responses to “In the Garden: Still Preparing!

  1. Love that picture of Joshua in his overalls. My Joshua wore overalls almost all the time.

    We have lettuce, peas, potatoes and onions planted. I want to plant beets this weekend. The weather is supposed to get down into the lower 30′s 2 nights this weekend. I hope nothing bites the dust.

  2. Things are getting there. We’ve not been in any big hurry so far. However, I think it’s time to pick up the PACE! Got some of the usual suspects planted….squash, onions, lettuce, and set out some tomatoes and peppers. A few cukes, watermelon, and cantalope that I started indoors are now in the ground. Oh, and I’m trying some “container” carrots and beets. Wonder how that will work out?

    Loved the overalls shot. Too cute!

  3. Oh, he is adorable! I love overalls on babies! My garden is (was) doing great before our crazy spring storms. My tomatoes survived and are about two feet tall now with lots of blossoms and even a few tiny green toms on them. My okra and beans aren’t growing too fast but growing. The spinach looks like it got beaten to death by the rain and don’t think it will recover but could be wrong! Peas look great!

  4. My garden sucks this year. I already know that because my window (North Texas) has passed to get crops going and planted out. My husband had cataract surgery and wasn’t able to help AT ALL for four weeks within the crucial part of the window. It was to be his job to turn over the beds for me. Not only that, but the choices I made this year for pots and seed starter had alarming failure rates, so I had to try new germination techniques.

    I’m not going to completely give up, but we’re already getting hot hot weather, so I’m thinking I’ll get some things going for a fall garden. Meh.

  5. Rob

    He looks like a little baby. C’mon Joshua … quit acting like a baby and grab a shovel and help your old man out. Your mama ain’t gonna do it! LOL J/K

  6. I am totally laughing about the jeans into unfinished skirt. I’m glad the pressure has been taken off!

  7. Taking pictures of the sweet little one is sooooo much better than hauling manure! Your grass is sooo green and lovely! Kim

  8. What an adorable photo!

    I’ve been anxious to get going this year because we’ve been unseasonably warm. I should have learned my lesson after the first hard frost killed my tomatoes. But no, I had to buy more, and they’re talking about another one tonight!

Leave a Reply

