200,000 Hits! Please introduce yourself!

I realized yesterday that Farmer’s Daughter has had 200,000 hits!  I thought we might have a little bit of fun in the comments to celebrate! Since I share so many of my dreams and goals here, I thought you might like to share yours, too.

Please play along! Leave a comment with any or all of the following…

  • Name (or Pseudonym)
  • Family Members
  • Dream (or future?) Family Members
  • Pets
  • Dream Pets
  • Real Location (as specific as you want to get)
  • Dream Location
  • Real Job
  • Dream Job
  • A Realistic Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in the next year or two
  • A Far-Out Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in 20-30 years, or never
  • A Dream that’s come true for you!

I’ll get the conversation started in the comments!

24 Comments

Filed under Home, Living from Scratch

24 responses to “200,000 Hits! Please introduce yourself!

  1. Name (or Pseudonym) – Abbie, aka Farmer’s Daughter
    Family Members – husband Edwin, son Joshua (and a great big extended family, too!)
    Dream (or future?) Family Members – some more kids… with at least one girl!
    Pets – all left on the farm, our house is empty of pets, but you all know about Dukie the Golden Retriever, Annabelle the Shire, Isabelle the Shire, Vinny the Percheron, and my other loves on the farm
    Dream Pets – Well, I’d have a loyal dog just like Dukie for Joshua to play with in a few years, a dairy cow, horses here at our house… it’s a dream!
    Real Location (as specific as you want to get) – shoreline Connecticut, on 1.8 acres in our dream house (it’s true!)
    Dream Location – Right here, with a lot more acreage so we could have our own self-sustaining farm
    Real Job – mom, wife, high school teacher
    Dream Job – mom, wife, Radical Homemaker
    A Realistic Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in the next year or two – getting chickens (and maybe a duck), having more children
    A Far-Out Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in 20-30 years, or never – see Dream Location!
    A Dream that’s come true for you! – my husband, my son, our home

  2. Angie LaMunyon

    Name (or Pseudonym) – Angie
    Family Members – Hubby Joe, dog Tex and ferrets Crackers, Hirshie, Luckey and Winter. We also consider our friends that live down the street a part of our family, we spend most weekends and some week nights together!
    Dream (or future?) Family Members – I’d love to have a couple of kids someday soon :)
    Dream Pets – chickens, a cow or two, horses
    Real Location (as specific as you want to get) – Swanton, OH
    Dream Location – NW Ohio is okay by me! a few acres and a farmhouse, preferably closer to my family, but no further!
    Real Job – graphic designer
    Dream Job – homemaker and homesteader
    A Realistic Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in the next year or two – pay off our debt and work on saving up.
    A Far-Out Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in 20-30 years, or never – a nearly self-sustainable small farm with our friends!
    A Dream that’s come true for you! – my husband and my house

  3. * Name – Amber
    * Family Members – 1 husband, one daughter, one son, one bad news cat
    * Real Location – nursing at the keyboard ;)
    * Dream Location – nursing at the keyboard with an ocean view
    * Real Job – mom
    * Dream Job – mom / supah famous author
    * A Realistic Dream Goal – being published
    * A Far-Out Dream Goal – having land and chickens and that ocean view
    * A Dream that’s come true for you – mah babies

    Happy 200,000!

  4. Pseudonym -Ryan
    Family Members -Nancy, Anna, Lillian
    Dream (or future?) Family Members -Yup
    Pets -Computer the beta fish sits next to my computer at work
    Dream Pets -A dream cat just like Duke. oh ok a dream dog too, and chickens if they can be counted as pets, surely sheep are pets?
    Real Location -Watersomething Iowa
    Dream Location -near the Mississippi River, or one of the great lakes
    Real Job -Process Engineer
    Dream Job -Industrial Design Assistant
    A Realistic Dream Goal -own a dog
    A Far-Out Dream Goal -acreage
    A Dream that’s come true! -I have seen the Taj.

  5. Tia

    ■Name (or Pseudonym)–Tia, but I usually am answering to Momma :)
    ■Family Members–My 10 year old son kelen & 8 year old daughter Nevaeh plus a bit ol’ extended family
    ■Dream (or future?) Family Members–We are great as we are :)
    ■Pets–2 sister cats, Teddy Bear & Cinderella
    ■Dream Pets–I would love to have a dog someday
    ■Real Location (as specific as you want to get)–Westminster Colorado
    ■Dream Location–the mountains of Colorado
    ■Real Job–I work in retail, full time momma, full time pre-med student
    ■Dream Job–Doctor of Osteopathy…someday
    ■A Realistic Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in the next year or two–Finish remodeling the main level of my townhome. In two years I should be graduating with my bachelors in Integrative Physiology. That’d be cool.
    ■A Far-Out Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in 20-30 years, or never–Have an established medical practice, lots of grandbabies and a lot of land for them to play on. :)
    ■A Dream that’s come true for you!–Bought a home for my kids and I. It’s not much but it is ours :)

  6. Susan K.

    * Name (or Pseudonym) Susan, Sue, Suzy, Mom
    * Family Members – Hubby, 1 daughter Alexis(7) and 2 sons Ethan (4), Austin(4 months)
    * Dream (or future?) Family Members – foster kids at some pt and maybe another baby
    * Pets – 2 cats, 4 kittens, 1 dog
    * Dream Pets some chickens! and a horse
    * Real Location (as specific as you want to get) Central Illinois
    * Dream Location – my house with a second story added plus a garage
    * Real Job – mom / librarian ( I get paid to play with books!)
    * Dream Job – cataloger
    * A Realistic Dream Goal – a garden ( we’ve got the land picked out but not the how to protect it yet)
    * A Far-Out Dream Goal – pay off the student loans
    * A Dream that’s come true for you! – we have a house!

  7. Kristin

    Name (or Pseudonym) – Kristin
    Family Members – husband David, son Ethan(3 years old)
    Dream (or future?) Family Members –Our son is plenty :)
    Pets – Doja, a chocolate lab
    Dream Pets – I would like some chickens, a pig, and another lab
    Real Location (as specific as you want to get) – Orange County California
    Dream Location – Vermont, but since my husband will not move there I will take 10 acres anywhere
    Real Job – mom, wife, mortgage industry. I have my teaching credential and would love to teach if California ever gets out of debt.
    Dream Job – mom, wife, FARMER
    A Realistic Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in the next year or two – getting acreage to have a farm
    A Far-Out Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in 20-30 years, or never – build my dreamhouse on my farm
    A Dream that’s come true for you! – my husband and son

  8. JoAnna

    ■Name (or Pseudonym): JoAnna
    ■Family Members: Husband and 3 daughters-ages 6, 5, and 3
    ■Dream (or future?) Family Members: we are all set! :)
    ■Pets: 2 lazy cats and a fishtank
    ■Dream Pets: a lazy bassetthound
    ■Real Location (as specific as you want to get): New Haven County, Connecticut on .33 acres
    ■Dream Location: Northern Connecticut? some acres surrounded by other farms…chickens, huge garden for summer eating and winter canning…
    ■Real Job: full-time mom, work per-diem as RN
    ■Dream Job: would love to bake bread and sweets all day and get paid for it! :)
    ■A Realistic Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in the next year or two: continue to expand our garden, eliminate all processed foods from our families diet
    ■A Far-Out Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in 20-30 years, or never: buy a house with a few acres…at least 5 years out but on the “Will be done!” list…watch my girls grow up and marry wonderful men and spoil grandkids rotten!
    ■A Dream that’s come true for you!: my husband and girls…more than I could ever ask for!

  9. Oh, what fun! I’ll come back to play, perhaps when I’m procrastinating on something else!

    Just wanted to say CONGRATS on this milestone and Congrats, too, on being recruited as a writer on another blog; to be unvieled soon! SO proud of you!

    Ruth/aka Mom

  10. Spencer

    Name (or Pseudonym) – Spencer
    Family Members – wife Abby
    Dream (or future?) Family Members – one in the oven
    Pets – two cats, two hamsters, and an itinerant woodchuck
    Dream Pets – a smart malamute
    Real Location (as specific as you want to get) – suburban southern Wisconsin on 0.3 acres
    Dream Location – rural northern Wisconsin or Minnesota on 2+ acres
    Real Job – code monkey
    Dream Job – stay-at-home dad w/ gardening and woodworking
    A Realistic Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in the next year or two – raised beds
    A Far-Out Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in 20-30 years, or never – run a B&B
    A Dream that’s come true for you! – Abby

  11. * Name (or Pseudonym): Lisa aka Retro Housewife Goes Green
    * Family Members: Husband, Justin
    * Dream (or future?) Family Members: At this point no plans for adding to the family
    * Pets: Patience, my great pyrenees/lab mix that is a rescue. We love her to death.
    * Dream Pets: I would like ducks (or chickens) and ever since the movie So Dear To My Heart I have wanted a black sheep, and we may get another Great Pyrenees at some point.
    * Real Location (as specific as you want to get): Ada, Oklahoma (small town in south eastern Oklahoma)
    * Dream Location: Big dream- Netherlands, slightly less unlike dream- Canada, and more likely Washington, Missouri, somewhere a bit more liberal and environmental (not that, that would take much)
    * Real Job: Homemaker, freelance writer, activist and trying to start a green consulting job. OH and I have an internship with a Rice PhD student helping with research and writing for her dissertation on the black town movement.
    * Dream Job: I would love to get more paid writing and do a lot of consulting work.
    * A Realistic Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in the next year or two: umm.. Get something published in print
    * A Far-Out Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in 20-30 years, or never: I would love to be SUPER sustainable and have a little homestead. :)
    * A Dream that’s come true for you!: I love my job so I guess that would be a dream that has come true. :)

  12. knutty knitter

    * Name (or Pseudonym) vivien
    * Family Members Husband, James (13), William (11), 4 elderly hens, two elderly cats (Chainsaw and skillsaw), Grandma next door, Uncle Phil next door, lots of extended family.
    * Dream (or future?) Family Members – Pretty much as is.
    * Pets see above
    * Dream Pets – like the ones I have at present – could do with some hens that aren’t geriatric
    * Real Location (as specific as you want to get) worlds steepest street, Dunedin, New Zealand
    * Dream Location – here already
    * Real Job – radical home maker/artist
    * Dream Job – full time artist – paid!
    * A Realistic Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in the next year or two – finish renovating the house
    * A Far-Out Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in 20-30 years, or never – finish renovating the house and garden!
    * A Dream that’s come true for you! Family.

  13. Name (or Pseudonym) – Lindsay
    Family Members- Myself, Brother Jared, Mom and Dad (Bill and Sue)
    Dream (or future?) Family Members- Future, hopefully husband one day Ryan and children
    Pets- Dog named Tucker
    Dream Pets- Not right now!
    Real Location (as specific as you want to get)- Small town called Quyon, Quebec, Canada
    Dream Location- No where but here!
    Real Job- Farmer, Sod farm to be specific
    Dream Job- Doing it! Nothing better than farming!
    A Realistic Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in the next year or two- Continue to renovate the old farm house and make it the best it can be.
    A Far-Out Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in 20-30 years, or never- I want to be married and have children.
    A Dream that’s come true for you- Being able to live, work and one day raise my children on the farm that my family has been living on for 5 generations.

  14. * Name (or Pseudonym): tawna- aka nhmommy
    * Family Members: me, hubby, colton and radford
    * Dream (or future?) Family Members: all done, sadly..
    * Pets: none yet
    * Dream Pets: horse, pigs, cow, chickens, bison..i guess it wouldnt be for just pets now though would it…
    * Real Location (as specific as you want to get): near rochester, NH
    * Dream Location: oh my…somewhere rural with a temperate climate, this heatwave is killing me.
    * Real Job: mom
    * Dream Job: vet and mom
    * A Realistic Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in the next year or two: own a house
    * A Far-Out Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in 20-30 years, or never: own our farm and self sufficient
    * A Dream that’s come true for you! my boys

  15. Laura

    * Name (or Pseudonym): Laura
    * Family Members: Husband and 18 month old son
    * Dream (or future?) Family Members: At least one more kid, maybe two more!
    * Pets: None
    * Dream Pets: None, at least for now. They are more work than I want to take on.
    * Real Location (as specific as you want to get): Massachusetts
    * Dream Location: Massachusetts! But a smaller town than I currently live in. And I would love a beach house in New England as well for a little get away.
    * Real Job: College Administrator
    * Dream Job: Park Ranger, or Retired :)
    * A Realistic Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in the next year or two: Learn to make good, homemade bread that can replace store bought bread
    * A Far-Out Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in 20-30 years, or never: Learn to knit (I’ve tried many times – this could be a 20 – 30 year goal)
    * A Dream that’s come true for you!: My son :)

  16. Nancy DeVries

    Pseudonym -Nancy
    Family Members -Ryan, Anna, Lillian
    Dream (or future?) Family Members -2 more girls
    Pets -Computer the beta fish
    Dream Pets -two cats that I am not allergic to
    Real Location – Waterloo Iowa
    Dream Location -Michigan, near the water under some large old trees
    Real Job -Mom
    Dream Job -Lab rat
    A Realistic Dream Goal -Get my cloth diapers to quit stinking
    A Far-Out Dream Goal – 20% down on a house
    A Dream that’s come true! -I married prince charming.

  17. Laura

    * Name (or Pseudonym) – Laura
    * Family Members – Husband and 4 children- 1 lives on her own
    * Dream (or future?) Family Members -lots of son/daughter-in-laws and grandkids!
    * Pets – Dog and parrot
    * Dream Pets – chickens, ducks, goats, more parrots, more dogs, bees
    * Real Location (as specific as you want to get) – WI
    * Dream Location – hobby farm in milder climate
    * Real Job – Library system job
    * Dream Job – Grower
    * A Realistic Dream Goal – Go back to school for nutrition and/or environmental science
    * A Far-Out Dream Goal – mission work, teaching people how to grow and be self sufficient
    * A Dream that’s come true for you! – my family!

  18. Name (or Pseudonym) – Celia
    Family Members – Boyfriend, huuuuuge extended family
    Dream (or future?) Family Members – many many children
    Pets – one cat, hopefully a kitten in a month or two
    Dream Pets: a dog I’m comfortable with, some chickens…
    Real Location (as specific as you want to get) – Ann Arbor
    Dream Location – Paris
    Real Job – Environmental Intern
    Dream Job – Saving the world!! or something environmental, ideally involving trees. Still haven’t figured this one out yet..
    A Realistic Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in the next year or two – landing a *real* job, learning to cook. Also finishing a New York Times Magazine crossword alone.
    A Far-Out Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in 20-30 years, or never – oh gosh, I honestly haven’t thought about this… travelling around the world and meeting lots of people, although if I thought about it longer I’d probably come up with something else too.
    A Dream that’s come true for you! – finding something to study that I absolutely love

  19. Name (or Pseudonym) Lisa/ hovnhnd
    Family Members son 21 daughter 24 16 farm family
    Dream (or future?) Family Members 2 more Belgians “another team”
    Pets 4dogs 1 cat 2 mini 2 draft 1 Pot pig 4 chicken 1 mean rooster
    Dream Pets another team
    Real Location (as specific as you want to get) So.Maine
    Dream Location So. Maine
    Real Job Retail
    Dream Job farm
    A Realistic Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in the next year or two I would like to go PT
    A Far-Out Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in 20-30 years, or never
    working at home on the farm only
    A Dream that’s come true for you! Myown horse(now 4)
    I’ll get the conversation started in the comments

  20. Liz Hoskins

    Name: Liz, Mommy (sometimes Lizard)
    Family Members: Hubby Noel, Nathan (5), Mallory (3), Jacob (16 months), Kaia-our welsch corgi (6), extended family and lotsa friends that might as well be family!
    Future Family Members: no more, I am complete with 3 healthy wonderful kids!
    Pets: See family members!
    Dream Pets: I want to raise a pig, my husband wants a goat, my kids want a bunny…..we’ll see who wins!
    Real Location: Northford, CT, my hometown, bought the house I grew up in and wouldn’t move if you paid me!
    Dream Location: Right where I’m at….although I could be tempted with a humble abode in Hawaii!
    Real Job: President and CEO of Hoskins Inc.: Professional nose wiper, booboo kisser, chef, chauffeur, baby bather, floor scrubber, and lovin it! Also PT Nanny (although more of a personal assistant now that the kids are in their teens) for a great family in Stony Creek for the past 12 years!
    Dream Job: See Real Job!
    A Realistic Dream Goal for next 1-2 years: Purchase a large chest freezer and begin purchasing our own meat (beef, pork, chickens, etc)….thanks for the inspiration Abbie!
    A Far out Dream goal for the next 20-30 years: Organize my home….including my closets, and try to figure out how to balance fun with kids with housework…..housework always gets pushed to the side…but isn’t that how it should be?
    Dream that’s come true for me: I now have a vegetable garden, a small one, but plan on adding to it each year….and tomorrow, I’m picking 3 pickling cukes! I know understand the thrill of gardening!

  21. Allie

    Hi I am Allie in the California Central Valley. I am married with 2 daughters and I think we’re done building our family. We’re in desperate need of a puppy because my daughter is obsessed with dogs and horses and to her dismay a German shorthair fits our townhouse better than a quarter horse so she gets her 2 year old fix at Great Grandpa’s ranch. I work for a health related non profit group but I would love to own my own coffee shop someday and make pastries every morning from fresh local produce. Which is my long term dream goal.

  22. Hi, I’m Mary. I’ve been reading your blog for about a year now and as a “country girl” and teacher myself (though from upstate NY) I really enjoy your perspectives on lots of things!
    In our family we have my husband, myself, and our two daughters (ages 15 and almost-10). In my extended family, I am the sixth of seven daughters (no sons).
    I won’t be having any more children, but my younger sister is expecting her first child this fall.
    We have two cats (a brother and sister) and we just adopted a puppy (she’s an English Shepherd) who is 8 weeks old. She is also why I haven’t had a chance to read your blog lately, to see this post and answer it! :)
    I have enough pets for now…so no dream pets that I can think of.
    Real location: Upstate NY, west of Albany
    Dream location: I wish I lived closer to my parents! We’re an hour and a half away by car, but sometimes it seems farther. A few of my sisters live in their general vicinity too, and I’m a family girl – so I miss everyone.
    Real job: High School English teacher and a part-time published novel author (writing for HarperCollins/Avon).
    Dream job: I love teaching, but for several reasons (having to do with my children and pets) I’d love to be able to write full time from home.
    Realistic Goal: finishing the manuscript I’ve been working on for almost two years, as I try to transition into another genre of fiction.
    Far Out Dream Goal: Seeing one of my books translated to film on the Big Screen
    Dream Come True: I have two big dreams that have come true…the first is having my daughters. I am so blessed to have them in my life (and I’ve been following your breastfeeding commentary…it sounds like it’s been working out great for you! I did the same with both my girls, though I had to transition to bottle by the time I returned to my teaching job when each was six months old). Second Dream Come True = becoming a published author in 2001. Seeing my name on the spine of a book in a bookstore or online never ceases to make me smile. :)

  23. keilis

    I’m getting in on this late since my Internet has been down for a few days, but I decided to respond anyway.

    *Name (or Pseudonym): Beth
    *Family Members: 2 parents, 3 brothers, and 2 sisters, and a soon-to-be husband (Saturday is the big day!!)
    *Dream (or future?) Family Members: kids
    *Pets: I have a white husky named Reynie that currently lives at my parents’ place in the country
    *Dream Pets: parrots and parakeets
    *Real Location (as specific as you want to get): Texas
    *Dream Location: Somewhere with lots of green grass, trees, and hills or mountains
    *Real Job: Sacker at a grocery store/student/about to be wife and homemaker
    *Dream Job: mother/homemaker
    *A Realistic Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in the next year or two: start a family, start paying off school loans
    *A Far-Out Dream Goal, something you might accomplish in 20-30 years, or never: Tour Europe
    *A Dream that’s come true for you!: I’m getting married! :D

    Congratulations on your milestone!

Leave a Reply

