Blueberry Season

blueberry pie 004

July means blueberries! I’ve been thinking of all things blue lately, from stuffing my face with fresh berries to baking, baking, baking! We had blueberry bushes when I was growing up on the farm, and I hated them because they were so small and it took so long to pick over the bushels brought into the farm market and put them into pints for sale.  If I could have kept from eating the biggest and juciest, the pints would have filled much more quickly!

blueberry pie 007

Blueberry Glaze Pie

blueberry pie 003

Blueberry Pie

Fruit Salad (Just fruit, no sugar is needed when it’s in season! A dollop of sweetened whipped cream couldn’t hurt though…)

Next on my list of things to make with blueberries: Blueberry Crumb Bars.  Check them out, they look awesome! I’ve made them with blueberry jam, but never with fresh blueberries.  Here’s a shot of the Blueberry Jam Crumb Bars

blueberry jam crumb bars 001

I also love Blueberry Buckle, Blueberry Shortcake, Blueberry Ice Cream Sundaes, Blueberry Pancakes… What’s your favorite way to enjoy blueberries? Links to recipes welcome!

6 Comments

Filed under Food, Living from Scratch, Local Agriculture

6 responses to “Blueberry Season

  1. Theresa

    I check in on your blog every couple days. I really enjoy your writing. Thank you for sharing your life. As for Blueberries, well right off the bush is the best for me.SinceI only have one bush and it’s only two years old, there really aren’t enough berries for me to even think about sharing :)

  2. When I was pregnant I froze 50 pounds of blueberries in a nesting frenzy. I somehow managed to prepare any actual meals in advance, but I was ready to go with frozen blueberries. I actually like to just eat them that way. They’re cool and refreshing and they taste like summer.

    Our blueberries are still a week or two off, but I can’t WAIT.

  3. OMG. We’re coming to visit.

  4. mmmm…..this post made me soooo hungry! :-) xo

  5. Rob

    mmmmmmmmmm pie. I have to say that my favorite way to eat blueberries is in a bowl doused with heavy whipping creme. LOL reminds me when my teacher would ask me the best way to raise berries… my answer: with a spoon

  6. Just found your blog today and Im really enjoying your writing. We cant grow enough blueberries at our house to meet our need for all thing blue – at the moment im hooked on frozen blueberry smoothies, but those pies look yummy too!

Leave a Reply

