A Glimpse of Farm Life

Today’s guest post comes from my dear friend Jena of Married to the Farm.

True friends helping so us girls could get off the wagon for awhile

A real heavy duty tractor, no frills

My husband, working on the tractor that pays the bills

A beautiful sight at the end of a long day

One of Brian’s best investments, our baler

A close up of our big tractor.  No cab or A/C here.

The local fairgrounds, all cleared out for the year

Back at the farm Pooh Bear says hello

Fall is coming but the dogs don’t mind!

Jena went from being a country girl to a farm wife when she met and married her husband Brian.  Since then she has learned to put up most of their food, keep the books, raise all kinds of animals and pitch in wherever an extra hand is needed.  She writes about all that and more at her blog Married to the Farm.

9 Comments

Filed under Living from Scratch, Local Agriculture

9 responses to “A Glimpse of Farm Life

  1. Jena~~your photos, your words, and your life are BEAUTIFUL! You and Brian have built such a wonderful life together and I’m sure your families are so proud of both of you!

    Looking at this pix brings back memories of growing up on my family’s dairy farm, baling hay, etc., etc., all good stuff.

    And one more thing: I’ve always felt that you and Abbie could be sisters–true kindred spirits–thanks so much for sharing!

    Hugs,
    Ruth/”Mom”

  2. Gorgeous! I especially love photos 1, 2, and 4. Awesome.

  3. I recall riding the hay rack. With my hay fever I would sneeze along – but the dust was denser in the barn.

    The shot of working on the John Deere – that sure looks like tightening up the hydraulic pump shaft coupler, after changing the alternator fan belt. I really dislike taking that coupler apart and putting it back together, and there is no other way to change those belts.

  4. Thanks ladies! :)

    Brad, I think it was possibly a part in the hydraulic pump itself (or the whole thing) that was causing hydraulic fluid to run out. It cost $200, that’s what I know best! :D

  5. I love that picture of Brian. It’s so timeless I feel like it could be my grandfather. Thanks for sharing!

  6. What magical photos! Really transports us to a different place and possibly, like Abbie says, a different time.

  7. I live in the suburbs now, but I grew up in the country and there is something about hay bales sitting in fields that speaks to my heart and reminds me of home.

  8. Thanks for sharing this post! I’m totally addicted to your blog now and can’t wait to read through every. single. post!

Leave a Reply

