Pumpkin and Winter Squash Recipes

You can use pumpkin and winter squash interchangably in recipes to change things up a bit and enjoy the whole harvest.  Sugar pumpkins, butternut, acorn and hubbard squashes are some of my favorites.  Here’s how I like to serve them.

fair 001

Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

Spicy Squash Soup with Kielbasa and Corn

Spicy Sea Scallops and Pumpkin Pasta

Twice-Baked Butternut Squash

Butternut Squash Walnut Bread

Butternut Squash or Pumpkin Cheesecake

Butternut Squash Pie

And don’t forget crafts!

glitter pumpkins 007

Glittery Pumpkins

Santa Gourds (Just remember to keep them so you can paint them!)

4 Comments

Filed under Food, Living from Scratch, Local Agriculture, What's for Supper?

4 responses to “Pumpkin and Winter Squash Recipes

  1. I have a box full of butternut squash in the basement – just calling my name! I think it’s time to dig into some of these recipes and try something new!

  2. You are my idol!

    I’d LOVE some of that pumpkin cheesecake . . . right about now!

  3. All of the food looks great! And the crafts are just marvelous. Can you come over to my house one of these days and fix dinner? I know my family would love it, :-) Tell Joshua and Ed that we’ll cover “take out” that night, lol.

  4. Dawn

    I’ve been visiting your site for a few months now. I’ve always wanted to live on a farm. This summer we joined a CSA for the first time. It was awesome. I had lots of winter squash hanging around, so I was psyched to see your recipes. I made the Roasted Butternut Squash soup. It was fabulous! I also made the Spicy Squash Soup with Kielbasa and Corn. It was also very good. It tasted better and better with every bite. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

