Birthday… Pie!

The Spring Celebration begins today! Please join in by sharing your favorite birthday recipe!

I love, love, love lime.  I remember trying fresh-squeezed limeade during a plantation tour in Jamaica (like 18 years ago) and it was one of the highlights of my trip. My favorite flavor of any candy is lime: sour patch kids, skittles, tootsie rolls, lolly pops, even green M&Ms.  But my absolute favorite lime dish is Key Lime Pie.  It has to have whipped cream on top, not meringue, and it has to be creamy yellow, not dyed green.  This is my mother-in-law’s recipe, which she makes for my birthday each year.  The picture below is from my birthday last year, just a few hours before labor started.  (Before you think about trying Key Lime Pie to bring on labor, remember that Joshua wasn’t born until nearly two days later…)

Key Lime Pie

Whisk together egg yolks and condensed milk until well blended.  Add lime juice and zest and whisk to combine.  Pour into cooled pie crust and bake at 350°F for 15 minutes.  Cool completely and chill.

Whipped Cream

  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 3 Tbsp confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Whip all ingredients together right before serving.  Top pie with whipped cream and serve.

Please share a link for your favorite birthday recipe, and I’ll add it to this post! (But give me some time, I have to work til 2pm, plus it’s my birthday! I’m 30!!!)

Other Birthday Recipes

  • We also have another pie for my birthday: Chicken Pie! Check out the story behind this tradition and my recipe, too.
  • Luschka shares her Gran’s Flop Proof Chocolate Cake that looks so yummy! I’m a novice cake-baker so I’ll have to try it!
  • Lisa baked Easy Chocolate Cake with Cream Cheese Icing. Mmmmm cream cheese icing… nuff said!
  • Melissa posted one of her favorites, Vegan Lemon Poppyseed Cake that she’s making for her daughter Annabelle’s birthday, which just happens to be the same day as Joshua’s.
  • Laura made a Pink Lady Pie that looks like the perfect girly dessert.  I can’t wait for fresh rhubarb to try it!
  • Jennifer shares a gluten-free Quinoa Chocolate Cake recipe.  She says she ate an entire cake by herself in one day, so it must be good!
  • Julamber baked a Chocolate Beet Cake for her daughter’s first birthday. Dwight Shrute would approve!
12 Comments

Filed under Food, Living from Scratch, Recipes

12 responses to “Birthday… Pie!

  1. LOVE your “lime” memories! Didn’t realize that what an impression that Jamaican limeade made on you; that WAS a fun trip! And I guess I forgot that your MIL’s fabulous key lime pie just preceeded your labor! ALL GOOD!

    Happy Birthday, Abbie! Let the celebrating begin!!!

  2. I love limes. I make my own lemon and limeades for my kiddos with cane sugar simple syrup and juice. I remember when I went to college and saw a lime in the grocery store here I was yelling “it’s huge!” I grew up with a key lime tree and thought that was what all limes looked like. I can remember climbing the tree to pick limes and getting stickers all jabbed in me. It was so worth it though. Glad we can find them here sometimes now!

  3. http://puginthekitchen.blogspot.com/2011/03/pink-lady-for-birthday.html

    I need to make this again soon… you know, to celebrate your birthday!

  4. I love key lime pie! It’s also my best friend’s favorite. I don’t have a birthday cake recipe of my own but I did do a post about the chocolate beet cake I made for my daughter’s first birthday!

    http://wifemomandmore.wordpress.com/2010/03/26/chocolate-beet-cake/

  5. Happy Birthday again!

    That sounds yummy! I may make that next month. I’m with you on whipped cream, I made a coconut cream pie for Thanksgiving and did whipped cream, easier and I think better. :)

  6. Happy Belated Birthday Abbie!! I hope you had a wonderful night and have a great weekend!! :)

  7. Yum! Beet pie! Yes, yes, Dwight would love that, wouldn’t he?

    You really need to write a cookbook. A birthday theme would be good or any shared thread could weave together the many recipes and stories you share here.

  8. Happy Birthday Joshua!! Have lots of fun with him today! :D

  9. So glad that your dear MIL didn’t disappoint and sent you a key lime pie this year, too! Perhaps this post served as a reminder?

    I’ll have to vote for Dad’s “famous” cheesecake, over birthday cake!

Leave a Reply

