Sauteed Cinnamon Apples

For supper we had leftovers of last night’s Macaroni and Cheese.  Since Ed can’t survive any meal without meat, he made a steak on the grill for himself.  Since I had no supper recipe to share, I’m sharing a recipe that I came up with about 6 months ago, when the apples were in season.  I like to serve it with pork or chicken when I want a change from my homemade chunky applesauce, although they’re really the same recipe.  I also like to serve this alone or over vanilla ice cream for a dessert. 

applesauce-005.jpg

Sauteed Cinnamon Apples

  • 3 peeled and thinly sliced cooking apples
  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • water or apple cider as needed
  • cinnamon to taste

Combine all ingredients in saucepan.  Cook over low heat until apples are very soft, adding small amounts of water as needed so the apples don’t burn or dry out.  NO SUGAR NECESSARY!

Maple Syrup Variation: Add 1 Tbsp Maple Syrup.  Ed just brought some home that his dad made.  I think this is the one I’ll make tonight.

Applesauce Variation: Cut apples into chunks, omit butter, and cook until very soft and falling apart for applesauce.

Any of these recipes make the house smell delicious!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Local Agriculture, Recipes, What's for Supper?

Leave a Reply

