Do-It-Yourself

This weekend was very productive for Ed and me.  Ed worked on our stair railing, making and installing three out of the four handrails on our front staircase.  The rails are made out of black walnut, and Ed has designed them to have easements and goose-necks, which help to make the rail look very formal.  We haven’t gotten the ballusters yet.  We’re looking for something twised, but not too fancy.  The ballusters we used on our back staircase were salvaged from a job he worked on, which means they were free and environmentally responsible!  Can it get any better than that?  Well, it could if we could find ballusters for the front stairs, too.  But no luck yet.

  

This week marks the one-year anniversary of when I first started painting in our house.  How to celebrate?  Well, I spent Saturday morning putting the finishing coat of blue paint in our master bathroom.  Ed and I decided to put up beadboard, which I put three coats of white paint on, then I finished the wall above it.  There’s no end in sight to painting, but I’d realistically like to be done by the end of the summer.  I still need to put a second coat on the two downstairs bathrooms, mudroom, upstairs hall, upstairs spare bedrooms, bonus room… not to mention that Ed wants to paint the inside of the garage at some point.  I also need to fill nail holes and paint the baseboard in all the rooms.  By the time I’ve finished painting, it will be time to start again.  I may be slow and not that great at painting, but at least I’m free.

             

I also spent some of Sunday afternoon making an apron.  I found this cute pattern from Montessori by Hand and ordered it about a month ago, then bought fabric a few weeks ago and finally got around to making it this weekend.  It’s such a cute, modern take on the apron.  Like I do with everything I make (sew, knit, cook, bake, crochet… even teach), I make it my own by not following the directions and changing something to make it better.  In this case, I didn’t like the tie halter strap, so I designed and made my own strap that didn’t tie.  Either way, I really like this apron and I’m already thinking about the next one I’m going to make and how it would make a great gift.

    

2 Comments

Filed under Home, Sewing, Sustainable Living

2 responses to “Do-It-Yourself

  1. That is a CUTE apron! Definitely not your grandmother’s–or great-grandmother’s apron! Love the style! Enjoy your vacation!

  2. Beautiful railings and stairs! Love the starfish decorations, too, and the photos of your apron. The pix add so much!

Leave a Reply

