Homemade Tortillas

I made some whole wheat tortillas today.  I like to experiment with different recipes when I’m home on vacation.  I have to say I was surprised how easy it was.  I took this recipe from the Chino House blog, but of course I made it my own.  Here’s my version:

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour (I used 1 cup white and 1 cup whole wheat, but you can use whatever you want)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 4 Tbsp canola oil
  • 2/3 cup water

Mix all ingredients in a bowl, turn out on a floured surface and knead a few times.  Divide into 6-8 portions, depending on how big you want them, and roll each into a ball.  Using a rolling pin, roll each out very thinly.  I found that I needed a lot of flour to keep them from sticking.

Cook each tortilla in a hot pan for about 40 seconds on each side, until it has dark brown spots on it.  I couldn’t believe how easy it was!  And I know they’re healthier because they’re homemade and don’t have any preservatives.

I made a burrito bar for supper.  I just browned some ground beef, sprinkled on chili powder, paprika, and pepper, and tossed in some chopped tomatoes.  I find taco seasoning too salty and totally unnecessary, because the tomatoes will cook down to make a sauce.  I don’t like cumin, but you could certainly add it.  I usually like to add onions and garlic into this pan, but I was in a hurry tonight.  I also serve shredded cheese, salsa, chopped avocado, and sour cream to go with the burritos.  So yummy and fast!  And I have to say that Ed was surprised I had made the tortillas myself. He said they look professional!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Recipes, Sustainable Living, What's for Supper?

Leave a Reply

