What’s for Supper?

Spaghetti and Sausage

Ed and I have mostly been using chicken or turkey sausage lately, but of course you could use pork sausage for this recipe.  I like Stop and Shop’s Nature’s Promise Sun Dried Tomato and Basil Chicken Sausage in this recipe.  I also sometimes use meatballs instead of sausage, but I’ll save that recipe for another time.

Sauce Ingredients:

  • 1 package sausage (6 links): chicken, turkey, or pork
  • 2 28 oz. cans of crushed tomatoes with basil (I like Muir Glen Organic)
  • 2 Tbsp tomato paste from a tube
  • pinch of red pepper flakes (omit if using spicy sausage, or adjust to your taste)
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp. Italian or all-purpose seasoning
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper, or to taste
  • 1-2 Tbsp olive oil

Heat olive oil in a large Dutch oven or pan with a lid.  Add sausage and brown on all sides.  Once sausage is browned, add tomato paste, garlic and red pepper flakes.  Stir around for a minute or so, being careful not to burn the garlic.  Add both cans of tomatoes.  Add remaining ingredients, stir to combine, cover pot and reduce heat to low.  Simmer for 30 minutes if using chicken or turkey sausage, or up to 2 hours if using pork sausage (which will become more tender the longer you cook it).  Remove sausage from pot, slice it thinly, and return to sauce.  Cook pasta of your choice according to package directions.  I like to use whole wheat angel hair (cook it a minute or two longer than package directions to make it more like white pasta).  I also like to use the fresh pasta in the refridgerated section of the grocery store.  I found spinach linguine there this week, so that’s what we’re having tonight. 

Serve with a green salad and fresh Italian bread if desired.

Disclaimer: I am not Italian, not even a little bit.  I make sauce how I like it, but feel free to change it to make it to your liking.  If you have an Italian grandmother, please use her recipe instead, because that’s a part of your food culture.

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Recipes, Sustainable Living, What's for Supper?

One response to “What’s for Supper?

  1. Aunt Sara

    Hi Abbie,

    I wanted to tell you that I have enjoyed reading your March and April entries. I especially liked the article on the quilts that Grandma Rose made, as well as your Mema. I was afraid if I responded to that blog you would never see the comment as it was from March.
    This is one farmer’s daughter who is not quite as up on Blog ettiquette as others may be…so feel free to straighten me out.

    The book review on In Defense of Food was perfect! I agree that Grandma Rose would not recognize, nor would she purchase, much of what is in the aisles of the grocery store. She would shop the edges: fresh vegetables, fruits, meats, fish, and dairy. I have suggested that Bonnie share with Aunt Muff your entries on quilts and Food Culture, as I think she would be pleased at how much of Grandma’s culture you remember and absorbed.

    P.S. Charlie and I also like Crab Cakes, so keep us in mind when you invite Dotty over.

Leave a Reply

