Cupcake Marathon

Ed’s sister Kate and I baked over 500 mini-cupcakes yesterday for the upcoming Green Awakening Fashion Show at my school on Earth Day, organized by one of my students.  We used recipes from the book: Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World.  Yes the cupcakes are vegan, meaning that they contain no animal products (milk, eggs, butter, etc.)  Although I personally would never consider becoming vegan, as I see nothing wrong with milking a cow or collecting eggs (or a big juicy steak for that matter), I have to say that the recipes are quite good.  And it’s nice to know that all people at the fashion show, no matter what their food preferences, will be able to enjoy the beautiful confections.  We used unbleached cupcake wrappers to be especially green.  We looked for recycled ones but couldn’t find them.  We made 8 types of cupcakes:

  • banana cupcakes with chocolate glaze and banana chips on top
  • vanilla bean cupcakes with vanilla bean frosting and sprinkles
  • chocolate cupcakes with chocolate frosting
  • mint-chocolate cupcakes with mint frosting
  • blueberry cupcakes with vanilla frostin and a blueberry on top
  • carrot cake cupcakes with cream cheese frosting
  • coconut cupcakes with toasted coconut frosting
  • chocolate cupcakes with vanilla frosting and an oreo on top

We didn’t finish decorating all of the cupcakes yesterday, but we did get them all baked.  We worked straight through from noon til almost 8 pm.  Here are some pictures of the cupcakes we did finish:

Note that I broke in my homemade apron.

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Sewing, Sustainable Living

2 responses to “Cupcake Marathon

  1. Kayla

    Those look so yummy! I cannot thank you and Kate enough for doing this. I KNOW they will be a hit!!!

  2. Marie

    Hi Ab
    Cupcakes, cupcakes and more cupckaes, my kitchen runneth over!!!
    Kate and I got them all decorated and they are ready to go, she left it up to me to make a sign and to be the delivery girl and depends on me to get them there, safe and sound. I have asked Ed to help me, we will see!! They look great and taste wonderful, who woul dhave thought that vegan cupcakes could taste so good., The coconut ones came out awesome, and I really loved the carrot cake ones, actually they were all really good, I am sure people will be very surprised because most people thing “vegan” food does not taste very good. And they look just adorable. See you Tuesday, what time should we be there and where?
    Hugs
    Mom Marie
    The new calf is very cute! Have a name yet?

Leave a Reply

