Green Awakening Pictures

The Green Awakening Fashion Show was a huge success last night!  I mentored a senior who organized this event as an independent study project to incorporate her interest in fashion with her interest in environmental science.  The evening’s events consisted of the fashion show of eco-friendly clothing, speakers Rob and Corinne from the online show Threadbanger, and a silent auction of all the fashion show items.  We also had a cupcake bar (Ed’s sister Kate, mom Marie, and I made them all).  All of the proceeds will be donated to the Sierra Club.  All of the models were students, and other volunteers included students and parents (Including my mom backstage and Ed’s mom at the cupcake bar).  I am so proud of all of my students who participated.  

The New Haven Register ran an article the day before that talks a little bit more about the show.  Read about it here.  Since I worked backstage, I was unable to snap any photos of the actual fashion show.  However, the local paper was there, and once the story runs I’ll be sure to link it. 

So far, over $1500 has been raised, but donations are still coming in!

Here are some pictures from my mom, who also volunteered at the show.  I can’t post pictures of my students, so they’re kind of limited.

Corinne and Rob from Threadbanger.

                                  

One of the tables at the silent auction.

Another silent auction table.

Ed’s mom, Marie, setting up all of the cupcakes that she, Kate and I baked for the show.  The cupcakes were a HUGE hit! I have to say that the coconut was the best.  Nobody could believe they were vegan or organic.

   

Me and Ed at the auction.  He was ready to go home…

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Sustainable Living

Leave a Reply

