Fried Fish

I picked up some beautiful wild-caught flounder fillets today.  So, inspired by my new cookbook, Alice Water’s The Art of Simple FoodI decided to make some fried fish.  I have my own recipe, but I might consider using hers sometime.  They’re very similar.  Ed and I both love fried fish, but I try not to make it too often.  I used to be one of those people who was afraid to cook fish, since I didn’t grow up eating a lot of fish.  However, it’s very easy to cook, as long as you don’t over cook it.

My Fried Fish (serves 2)

  • 4 small flounder fillets, or other white fish (sole, lemon sole, cod, cod loin, etc.)
  • 1 cup flour in a pie plate, seasoned with salt and pepper
  • 1 egg beaten with 1 Tbsp water in a pie plate
  • 1 1/2 cups Panko breadcrumbs (Panko is Japanese, you can substitute regular breadcrumbs, but these are course and make great fried fish)
  • canola oil about 1/4 inch deep in the bottom of a heavy pan (I use my dutch oven)

Heat oil in the pan over medium high heat.  Dredge the fish in flour, then coat with egg, then coat with breadcrumbs, being sure to shake off the excess.  Carefully place the fish into the hot oil.  You should see it sizzleing around the edges of the fish.  Cook for 3 minutes, flip, and cook an additional 3 minutes.  If it gets too brown, you may need to turn the heat down to medium.  If you’re making a large quantity, you can keep the cooked fish hot in a low oven until they’re all cooked.  Drain on paper towel or parchment paper briefly before serving.  Serve with tartar sauce, salt potatoes (boiled red potatoes with butter and salt), and cole slaw.  Oh, and by the way, I discovered you can make my cole slaw recipe using half of the oil and with a whisk, which is nice because then you can cut the calories, fat, and fossil fuels (by skipping the food processor), and still have yummy cole slaw.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Recipes, Sustainable Living, What's for Supper?

Leave a Reply

