Tree Planting

 

Most of my students have finally recovered from the Green Awakening Fashion Show.  The Environmental Club realized that somehow Arbor Day, April 25, had come and gone without any special celebration.  Fortunately, our club president had joined the Arbor Day Foundation, and he brought in his 10 trees that are given to members.  (By trees, I mean dormant, bare-root, stick-like little trees).  So today after school we potted the little guys and cleaned up the greenhouse.  We hope to plant the trees in a safe location on school grounds, but for now we’re going to protect them in the greenhouse.

I’ve been a member of the Arbor Day Foundation for the last few years.  A membership is a great gift to give someone, as they’ll also receive 10 little trees.  So far, I haven’t had luck with the trees I’ve gotten from them, to no fault of the foundation.  One little tree met a rough end when my dad weedwacked it, thinking it was just another sprouting tree that we didn’t want.  Another tree, a tiny peach tree, was run over by my brother Nathaniel’s quad, “accidentally.”  Now that I have my own house, I plan to plant a little orchard inbetween our house and the closest neighbor.  Nothing too fancy, but some trees that will give us some pretty blooms in the spring and a little bit of fruit.  I’ve already been picking out my varieties, dwarf of course so I’ll be able to get to all of them.  Macoun, Empire, and some other crispy and tart apples, some peaches, and maybe some plums or cherries.  We’ll most likely get them from a New England grower, bigger than the ones you can get from the Arbor Day Foundation.  I’m impatient that way… We probably won’t get them for a few years, but I’m already dreaming about it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Gardening, Home, Outside, Sustainable Living

Leave a Reply

