New England Crab Cake Burgers

I came home today and I was so bored with cooking the same old stuff all of the time.  I had a whole chicken in the fridge, and some chicken sausage, but I didn’t want to make either one.  Finally I searched around a little on food.com and came up with an idea! Crab Cake Burgers (a la Rachael Ray… she makes everything into a burger…)!  But I made up my own recipe, based loosely on my Crab Cake recipe, with a few small changes.  Here it is, for your enjoyment!

New England Crab Cake Burgers

In a large bowl, gently mix the following:

  • 1 1/2 cups crab meat (I used claws, because that’s what I could get at the store today)
  • 2 Tbsp tartar sauce
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp Wostershire sauce
  • 1 egg
  • 2 Tbsp chopped chives
  • sprinkle paprika
  • sprinkle pepper
  • about 1/2 cup panko breadcrumbs, or other dried breadcrumbs, enough to start to hold the mixture together

Chill for at least 1 hour in the fridge.  The mixture is very loose, so if you don’t chill it you’ll have a hard time making the cakes.

Make about 5 or 6 large crab cakes by first rolling into a ball, then flattening.  Coat each side of the crab cake in some more panko breadcrumbs for extra crispiness.  Cook in about 2 Tbsp of canola oil in a dutch oven or other heavy pan, until nicely browned on each side.  Keep warm in an oven until all crabcakes are cooked.  Serve with:

  • fresh hard rolls or hamburger buns
  • tartar sauce
  • lemon wedges
  • lettuce
  • tomato slices
  • avocado slices

There’s also plenty left over, so we can both take some crab cake burgers for lunch tomorrow! Ed’s comment about tonight’s supper: “You never cease to amaze me!”

3 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes, What's for Supper?

3 responses to “New England Crab Cake Burgers

  1. dadcooks

    Definitely going to make these this weekend. Thanks for sharing this.

  2. Nummmm!!!! I really, REALLY wish my husband wasn’t allergic to crab. I’ve tried using that fake crab-flavoured pollock stuff, and while it’s great for pasta it doesn’t really work for crab cakes.

    Hmph.

  3. Pingback: new crab cake recipes | The Crab Cake Guy

Leave a Reply

