Planting

Ed and I got some more of our plants into the ground this afternoon.  And here are some rare pictures of me in the act of planting! I forced asked Ed to take them for me.

We planted the seedlings I started so long ago… the green beans, nastertium, basil, and tomatoes.  We also planted some parsley, chive and sunflower seeds.  Ed’s in charge of the layout of the garden, although I mapped it originally, he field verified all of my measurements, haha.  Ed also dug some of the holes, but I planted everything.  I feel that it’s important to note that I usually do all of my own digging, and I planted a whole bunch of annuals in front and back of the house earlier in the afternoon.  I’ll post pictures of those gardens at some point, too.  I just don’t want you to think Ed does all the hard work.  Only most of it.

So what have I learned from this adventure in gardening so far? Here’s the top 10 list…

  1. Label your seedlings.  Just because you’re a botany teacher and were a farm kid and can tell the difference between plants, that doesn’t mean you’ll be able to tell apart four different kinds of tomato plants.  I’m just hoping I have some slicers and some plum tomatoes in my garden.  But I’m not sure.
  2. It is not necessary to plant all of the seeds in the packet, especially, again, four different types of tomatoes.  When there’s only enough room for 12 tomato plants in your garden, you can afford to cut back.  Ditto for basil.
  3. Don’t start green beans at the same time you start peas.  Although they fit in the same category in my mind, they don’t in the garden.
  4. A formal dining area is about a million times more useful to start seeds than it is as a formal dining area.  Especially when you don’t have a dining room table.
  5. Ed can build lots of cool stuff, especially when I nag ask politely, repeatedly.
  6. My best tools are my trowel, my husband, and my hands.
  7. My nail scrubber is my favorite inside tool.
  8. Watering cans are for house plants.
  9. If a deer jumps into our garden, I’m pretty sure he or she won’t be able to get out.  There’s not enough room for a running start.  So we may have built a deer trap.  I’ve always wanted another pet deer.
  10. You could only grow one giant pumpkin plant in our garden.  Hey, that sounds easy… mayble we’ll do that next year.  Yes, Jon, I know it’s not easy to grow them.  But one day we will have a giant pumpkin growing competition.  And we’ll see who wins.  No atlantic giants.  They’re squash, and they’re for cheaters.

So at this point we’re about half done with planting.  We still have to plant the cukes, summer squash, butternut squash, spaghetti squash, and pumpkins (little ones!)  Don’t think that will all fit? Me either.  But we’re going to try.

5 Comments

Filed under Food, Gardening, Home, Local Agriculture, Outside, Sustainable Living

5 responses to “Planting

  1. Nate

    you make an awfull big project out of a 10’x15′ garden

  2. farmersdaughterct

    Yes, I realized that when I had a bunch of seedlings left over. Oh, and it’s 15’X20′.

    Are you just jealous that I mentioned Jonathan in the post and not you Nathaniel? I can write about you growing giant pumpkins if you’d like.

    I love my brothers!

  3. Jon

    hang in there ab… i’m sure the gardening will get much easier once ed’s big tractor shows up!! you’re gonna have to get him a straw hat to wear while he is tillin’ the fields. haha.

  4. farmersdaughterct

    What was that Jon? You challenge me to a punkin growin throw down?

  5. I love the pics of you in your garden too. Also, last night Matt and I were paging through your blog and he was reading some of your posts. I got a bit worried because he saw all the recipes and cooking you do. If you ever notice a deficit of content on Green Mamma, it is definitely cooking. I love to gather the food, but I am a smoky cook. Anyway, just thought I would share. That is so funny that we both posted about gardening at the exact same time. I guess it’s just the season . . .

Leave a Reply

