Maple Roasted Butternut Squash with Walnuts

I have had a butternut squash in my fridge for a month.  I was so excited to see that it was from Massachusetts that I had to buy it, but then it somehow got pushed to the back of the fridge and I forgot about it.  Finally, today I’m using half of it to accompany garlic lemon roasted chicken.  Now I have half a butternut squash sitting in my fridge, waiting to up used up.

Maple Roasted Butternut Squash with Walnuts

  • 1/2 of a butternut squash, peeled and diced in large chunks
  • 1/2 of a medium red onion, sliced
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp our own maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup walnuts
  • salt and pepper

Mix all ingredients in a glass baking dish.  Bake in a preheated 375 F degree oven, stirring occasionally, until the squash is tender and browned, about 1 hour.

Now if I could just find something exciting and different to do with the other half of the squash…

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Local Agriculture, Recipes, Sustainable Living, What's for Supper?

Leave a Reply

