Strawberry Frozen Yogurt

Honestly, I was going to make jam today.  I really was.  But it’s 97 degrees here, and the thought of standing over a pot of bubbling jam and another pot of boiling water was just crazy.  So, I decided to do something cold instead!

Strawberry Frozen Yogurt

  • 1 quart of strawberries
  • 3/8 cup honey
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 1 cup plain yogurt

Hull and quarter strawberries.  Stir in honey and lemon juice.  Cover and let sit at room temperature for 1 hour.  In a food processor, pulse the strawberries and juice with the yogurt until smooth.  Cover mixture and refrigerate for 2 hours.  Freeze in an ice cream maker, which should take about 20 minutes.  Eat it soft out of the ice cream maker, or transfer it to a bowl and freeze.  Top with whipped cream and a strawberry.

If you decide to use sugar instead of honey, increase it to 2/3 cup, because honey is sweeter than sugar.

Oh, and I did cut up some strawberries for preserves.  They’re steeping in the fridge right now.  But more on that tomorrow.

4 Comments

Filed under Food, Local Agriculture, Recipes, Sustainable Living, What's for Supper?

4 responses to “Strawberry Frozen Yogurt

  1. Mmmm , yum! I wish you lived closer. Oh well, thank goodness you shared the recipe. Matt loves strawberries though, so maybe I can convince him to try to make this dish. It looks delish! =)

  2. Holy cow, that looks good!!! I’ve been thinking about doing something like this but I’ve postponed it because I don’t have a recipe handy, etc. Dang, I’m gonna make some tomorrow! Yum.

  3. farmersdaughterct

    Gosh Green Mamma, why don’t you surprise him with some for dessert tonight! HE doesn’t have to make it. I’m sure it’ll make him think fondly on when he used to pick berries for my grandmother…. Although that’s hard work! And I’m sure he didn’t get paid very well.

    Green Bean, it is so good. I’m thinking I might make it again today. Let me know if you like it! I love how bright red it is.

  4. Thanks! I will be making this as soon as I make the yogurt… I’ve been a little behind this week. Can I jsut freeze the mixture without an ice cream maker? I just ordered the attachment for my kitchenaid and it won’t be here until the end of the week (free super saver shipping!). I am anxious to try this, though. I was also thinking of making this the filling for ice cream sandwiches… thoughts?

Leave a Reply

