Pillowcase Tote

Inspired by Green Mamma and Creative Kismet’s Tote Giveaway, I decided to try making my own reusable bag out of a pillowcase.  After picking up a pretty striped pillowcase at Walmart, I tried it out.  The stitching is not perfect, but I think it’s pretty good for a first try.  It only took about 30 minutes start to finish!

Here’s how I made this pillowcase tote:

  • Choose a pretty pillowcase.  I decided to get a new one from Walmart, but an old favorite or a thrift store find are even better choices.
  • Decide how big you want your tote to be.  I liked the fancy solid edge for the top of the bag, so I cut off the hemmed end to make it the size I wanted. 
  • If you use the hemmed end, then you don’t have to sew a seam along the bottom.  I sewed straight across the bottom, then sewed on a diagonal across the corners to make the shape of the bottom fancier.
  • Using the remaining fabric scraps, I cut two long rectangles, one for each handle.  I sewed along one edge to make a tube-like shape.
  • I decided where I wanted the handles to go, pinned them on, then sewed a large box with an X in the middle so it would hold on well.  I used a zigzag stitch because this one was visible.

So there it is, a simple, fast, pillowcase tote.  It’s so cute, so much better than those ugly green bags that everyone (including me) is carrying around these days.  Maybe I’ll make myself a whole set of colorful, floral and striped bags.

5 Comments

Filed under Sewing, Sustainable Living

5 responses to “Pillowcase Tote

  1. Farmer's Daughter's Mother

    Love it, love it! Very fashionable and fun! How about those recycled T-shirt totes we saw at the Farmers’ Market? Have you thought about recycling any old T-shirts to make one?

  2. Cute! I need to learn to sew something . . . anything!

  3. farmersdaughterct

    Mom- All of my T-shirts are still wearable… and Ed’s old T’s are too stained, full of glue, or full of holes to become bags. They’re strictly for rags. But now that I think of it, I do have a pretty T from Block Island with a glittery mermaid on it. I thought it was the right size, but when I got it home it was a small (NOT my size). Could never bring myself to throw it out because it’s so pretty. That could make a cute little purse or lunch bag… hmmmm.

    Green Bean- You should try this. It’s easy! You could probably even do it by hand, but it would take a lot longer.

  4. Kyrcz Family

    Love your tote bag! My daughter has a sewing machine which she is trying to master and this would be PERFECT project. She will learn about her machine, we will have something useable AND we will be going GREEN! Thanks to you and your mother, who turned me onto this blog.

  5. Pingback: Green Mamma » Blog Archive » Green Friend of the Week: Isil from Veggie Way

Leave a Reply

