Backsplash

Last week, Ed announced that he will be doing the backsplash in the kitchen for our anniversary.  A long time ago, I decided that I would like a beadboard backsplash.  I know it will be more difficult to clean than tile, but we pretty much like to do things the hard way around here.

So, like the romantic husband he is, Ed decided that the backsplash would be the perfect present.  We have beadboard that his dad managed to salvage from some job somewhere.  It just needed to be cut to the right length and painted.  Wait a minute! Did I just say paint! Yes I did!!! Those of you that know me in real life know that I am an expert painter.  Not really.  I’m a free painter.  And I started painting this house in April of 2007.  Seriously.  I have painted every room in this house, with a little bit of help here and there from family.  So, when it comes to painting that’s not perfect, but free, I’m your gal.  Ed likes to make a point that I’m a much better painter than he is.  Riiiiiight….

Immediately Ed nominated me to paint.  Wait! I thought this was a present?  What do you mean three coats? (Yes, I know they need three coats, from the bathroom beadboard painting that I did.  I just didn’t want to do it.)  So I painted Sunday, Monday, Wednesday, and tonight (Friday).  Ed will install the beadboard tomorrow, and hopefully he won’t ding up my pre-painting.  Because then I might have to do a fourth coat. 

Well, here are some pictures.

Here are some “before” pictures of the kitchen.  Which is also my favorite room of the house, and the most expensive, but totally worth it.

Maybe by tomorrow we’ll have some “after” pictures.  But those of you who know Ed know that’s unlikely.  He’s a perfectionist.  But hopefully the work I need to do for my present is done.  Oh, and Ed’s present is the tractor.  And apparently the backsplash.

1 Comment

Filed under Home, Sustainable Living

One response to “Backsplash

  1. Love your kitchen! It’s very similar to mine. We just remodeled ours from it’s ugly 1960 darkness to white cabinets, counter-top almost exactly like yours, and buttercream yellow walls.

Leave a Reply

