Summer Vacation!

Today is my last day of school for the year, and graduation is tonight.  I’m very proud of my students and I wish the best for all of them in the future.  I feel very lucky that as a teacher I’m able to have the summer off.  I happily admit that one of the reasons I went into teaching was so I would have the same schedule as my future children.  Of course, I also love what I do, so summers off are a bonus.  We’ve gone so late this year that it feels like vacation would never come! 

When I was in college, my parents, brothers, cousins, Ed and I went on a rafting trip down the Colorado River in Utah.  Those 5 days were an unforgettable experience.  Of course, I don’t have any pictures to post from then because I didn’t own a digital camera then! But some day I’ll learn to use my scanner.

Two years ago, my parents, brothers, Ed and I went to Alaska for two weeks.  We went to Katmai National Park and actually hiked out to Brooks Falls to watch Brown Bears feed on salmon.  It was an amazing experience.  I am totally not a thrill seeker, and I still really can’t believe that I was so close to bears! I’ll probably write a whole post about it in a few days, so I’ll only post a couple pictures for now.  We took these pictures, and I feel that it’s important to note that there were no zoom lenses, we were actually that close to the wild bears.  More on that to come!

Last year, my mom and I went to the Island School Teacher’s Conference on the island of Eleuthera in the Bahamas.  Another amazing week.

So what will I be doing this summer?  We don’t have anything big planned, like previous years.  Ed and I may make it up to Maine to his parents’ house at some point.  But we’re not sure about that, with the price of gas.  Mainly, we’ll just be enjoying our time at home, in our new house.

I’ll be working weekday mornings at the farm market, which is a nice schedule because it closely matches my school schedule.  It seems fitting, since the original reason for summer vacation was to free children up for farm work.

I’ve also made a list of the things I’d like to accomplish this summer:

  1. Make a replica of our wedding cake for our anniversary on June 26 (smaller, of course)
  2. Can and freeze tomatoes; preserve peaches, blueberries and raspberries; freeze corn
  3. Pick wild wineberries and make Grandma Rose’s wineberry pie
  4. Finish a sewing project, any sewing project! (especially my mermaid bag)
  5. Bake bread
  6. Make homemade pasta
  7. Walk along the beach, around the farm, or up to the reservior whenever possible
  8. Organize the office
  9. Organize the pantry and get a second coat of paint there and in the mudroom
  10. Hang curtains and pictures
  11. Get a second coat of paint on the guest bathroom
  12. Make cheese
  13. Read books, lots of books
  14. Get set for my Environmental Science, Botany, and Advanced Environmental Science classes next year
  15. Collect shells and sea glass and use them to decorate
  16. Decorate the house a little.  All of our walls are blank and the house still echoes!
  17. Host an Open House party
  18. Do some research about apple and peach trees, raspberries, and strawberries, and make plans to grow them
  19. Garden, garden, garden! Also, plan the fall and winter vegetable garden
  20. Go fishing with Ed and his brother, at least once
  21. Decide what I want to enter in the fairs this year

I think that’s it.  I’ll have to add on in the comments when I come up with more stuff I want to do.  We’ll see how much of it actually gets done!

6 Comments

Filed under Food, Gardening, Home, Local Agriculture, Outside, Sewing, Sustainable Living

6 responses to “Summer Vacation!

  1. Ah, I see you are list maker like I am. Best wishes for getting through it!
    Abbie, I’ve been looking through some of your older posts, and especially appreciate the one on GMO crops. You have the life perspective and professional expertise to write very articulately about that subject. I really feel like I learned a lot, and can relate to your decisions about how to choose what to buy based on what you’ve learned.

  2. farmersdaughterct

    Thanks, Joyce. I have to say that I’m happy the state of CT requires that all public schools teach about GMO’s and encourages students to form their own opinions.

  3. We hear a lot about it here, because of the importance of the European market to our grain farmers, and also because farmers get so aggravated with some of the tactics of the seed corporations (Monsanto-I might as well put a name on them!). I just hear it kicked around on the ag reports on the radio, but, not being in agriculture myself, have trouble sorting it all out.

  4. I can totally relate to the feeling of a home that echoes. Still, we liked it for a while because we liked the openness of not having lots of “stuff.” =) Anyway, I’m looking forward to hearing more about your to-do list this summer. Your projects sound like fun.

  5. I’m interested in what fall/winter garden stuff you’re going to plant. We’ve never done a fall/winter garden but I would love to this year!

  6. farmersdaughterct

    Hi Lindsey,

    The fall part is easier. Anything that will do well in spring will also do well in fall. I’m planning to keep lettuce growing as long as I can, carrots, and maybe another crop of peas. I’m not sure what will do well here in the winter, but I’m sure I can keep it going until at least Thanksgiving. I’ll be sure to post updates.

Leave a Reply

