Nectarine Frozen Yogurt

For dessert on this steamy day, I decided to make something cold.  I had almost over-ripe nectarines in the fridge, so I used my recipe for Strawberry Frozen Yogurt but substituted nectarines for most of the strawberries.  I did throw in a couple of strawberries that were left over from yesterday’s Strawberry Shortcake, and I didn’t peel the nectarines so it would be a brighter color.

So far, quitting corn syrup is going well.  I had cereal and milk for breakfast, lots of different fruits at the stand (instead of cookies or muffins), Annie’s macaroni and cheese for lunch, and for supper, chicken, mashed potatoes, corn on the cob, and salad.  And I drank water out of my SIGG all day.  The only thing that I’m sad about is that our frozen custard at the stand is sweetened with corn syrup, so that’s off limits for the month.  As I told Chile, I might actually lose weight on this anti-corn syrup diet.  Good thing the nectarine frozen yogurt can stand in for the ice cream.

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes, Sustainable Living, What's for Supper?

2 responses to “Nectarine Frozen Yogurt

  1. Abbie, youv’e got me thinking about this. I’m going to start reading labels a little more closely, and maybe do some substitutions. I have a little trounble with the perfectionism required by some of these challenges, but I do think the corn syrup is sort of taking over and we could do with much less of it in our diet.

  2. I have some over-ripe nectarines so this recipe is perfect. Thanks for posting it!

Leave a Reply

