Corn Week is Here!

After the fun I had with Strawberry Week, I couldn’t help but want to continue.  I absolutely love Native corn.  In my senior yearbook, this is what is says under my picture for “likes”: “the beach, horses, basketball and football, corn on the cob, true friends, snow, aquamarine, cowboys.”  All of those are still true, and corn on the cob continues to be one of my favorite things.  To kick off Corn Week, I think some “Corn Etiquette” is appropriate!

Abbie’s Corn Etiquette

  1. Only eat corn on the cob when it’s Native.  Native means local, in season.  If you see corn on the cob in a restaurant in January, don’t get it.  You will always be disappointed.  Although frozen corn can be very good, it just doesn’t compare to Native corn on the cob.
  2. You must always husk corn outside.  If you husk corn inside, you will find silk all over your house for days to come.  If it’s too cold to husk corn outside, then see rule #1.  Recently, I went to see the movie Sex and the City with a few girlfriends.  There was a scene where Carrie was husking corn in the appartment.  My cousin Shannon and I looked at each other, and I said “You don’t husk corn inside!” to which Shannon agreed.
  3. Throw the husks in the woods or in the compost pile.  I like to throw them in the woods, because I know something will eat them.
  4. Don’t husk the corn until right when you want to cook it.  It will dry out if you husk it too early.  On a related note, don’t husk it on the counter of the farm market you buy it from (as you’ll never buy good corn from the grocery store!).  It makes a mess, and the poor kid working there has to clean it up, repeatedly.  This makes that kid unhappy to see you next time!  Also related, don’t buy corn that has been husked and wrapped in plastic.  Not only is it a waste of plastic, the corn will be dried out.
  5. Bi-color corn, such as “Butter and Sugar” is way better than plain old yellow corn.  White corn, like “Silver Queen” is harder to find, but great when it’s available.
  6. Go ahead and roll your corn in the butter.  I suggest you designate a stick of butter specifically for this purpose in corn season.  However, I encourage you to give corn a try without the butter.  I like it with just salt and pepper, and I find butter masks the corn flavor.
  7. If you’re boiling corn, my preferred method, only boil it for a minute or so.  Don’t overcook!
  8. Buy corn on the day you want to eat it.  If you want sweet corn, it has to be fresh picked.  Once corn is picked, it starts to convert the sugars into starch, which is not sweet and is tough.
  9. Always have plenty of napkins and toothpicks on hand. 
  10. And finally, I like to plan on having 2 ears of corn per person.  Oh, and by the way, they’re called “ears,” not “corns.”

So here’s how we’re eating corn tonight!  Boiled corn with salt and pepper, served with pesto crusted salmon (using the pesto I made yesterday), mashed potatoes, and the first green beans from our garden.

 

Do you have any corn etiquette to add?

8 Comments

Filed under Food, Local Agriculture, Sustainable Living, What's for Supper?

8 responses to “Corn Week is Here!

  1. We have always husked it in the kitchen, so go figure. If you ever get a chance to try Illini Supersweet, go for it! It’s heavenly stuff. I love butter and sugar, too.

  2. I always put the kids to work outside on the husking… that’s what my parents did to me! And we never, ever husked the corn at the farm stand! Ever! I am really liking grilled corn on the cob. The corn is just starting to come in from Southern Ohio, but it still is a tad less sweet. Grilling seems to draw out the sugars more than boiling. Do you freeze any of your corn? I am going to try this year and wondered for some advice.

  3. Looks very similar to the dinner we had last night. #2 is the best advice!!

  4. Ruth

    How about the etiquette of eating corn? Do you eat around the cob in a circular fashion or across the rows like a typewriter? (Probably dating myself here, a type-what?)

    Also, what about corn myths? Truth or fiction? Is it true that each strand of silk matches up evenly to each kernel and that the rows are always in odd numbers?

  5. farmersdaughterct

    Joyce- Whatever works for you! I just can’t manage to keep it clean. I’ve never seen that variety around here. I wonder if it only grows in your area.

    Laura- It was a kid’s job at my house, too. However, since we don’t have any kids around, I usually make the boys do it.

    EAT!- I agree, #2 is the most important for me.

    Mom- I like to eat it around in a circle. Ed likes the typewriter style, but it makes me nuts that he holds the fat end in his right hand… I think you need to hold it in your left! (Am I crazy?)
    It’s true that each strand of slik matches up to each kernal. Two grains of pollen must travel down each strand of silk to fertilize each kernal. Each kernal is an individual fruit in this case. I don’t know about the rows being in odd numbers. Apparently, I’m going to end up counting from now on. Oh, and by the way, Mom, get those boys under control! (See my Sunday Stroll comments!)

  6. Kayla

    Hi Mrs. Walston!

    This is unrelated to corn (although it is quite yummy and one of my favorite vegetables) but I would like to suggest you check out “More Hip than Hippie”, my favorite eco-friendly podcast. Their website is morehipthanhippie.com, and you can listen to the shows right on there or read the shownotes. I think you’ll like it!

    Hope you’re having a great summer!

  7. farmersdaughterct

    Hi Kayla- Thanks, I’ll check it out. Oh, and you’re not a student anymore… so please call me Abbie!

  8. We just had our first corn from our CSA last night with green beans, mashed potatoes, fried chicken and scallion biscuits with watermelon for dessert. I felt like I was a kid again!

    As far as etiquette, I’d say to make sure to apologize when somebody eventually gets some corn spray in the eye from over-vigorous eating!

Leave a Reply

