Quick Dill Pickles

With the rainy afternoon, I got a chance to try out the Quick Dill Pickle recipe from Country Living Magazine that I’ve been wanting to try.  The surplus of pickling cucumbers in both our garden and Chris and Melissa’s garden were what convinced me it was time to try this pickle recipe.

In the past, I made some dill pickles the old fashioned way, processing them for the recommended amount of time. However, I found that the resulting pickles, when I finally got to try them months later, were mushy and gross.  It felt like a huge waste of time, and I vowed to never make pickles again. 

However, I love pickles, so I decided that the way to go would be to make “quick” pickles, that would be ready soon.  This recipe says that the pickles will be ready in 2-3 weeks, and since they’re not processed, it will be easy to open the jar, try a pickle, and close it back up and wait a week if it’s not ready yet.  Also, since they’re not processed, I’m hoping they’ll stay crisp and not get mushy like the processed pickles.  If they’re good, I’ll make a bunch more as the season goes on.  That’s the best part, I think, that I’ll be able to try these pickles before the season’s over, so I don’t have to make a whole bunch without knowing if it’s worth the effort.  The recipe says they’ll keep for two months in the refrigerator, but the truth is, if they’re good, they won’t last that long.

8 Comments

Filed under Food, Gardening, Recipes, Sustainable Living

8 responses to “Quick Dill Pickles

  1. everydaywomanusa

    Wow! You’ve been productive on this stormy afternoon! Hope they turn out as crispy as you like!

  2. farmersdaughterct

    Thanks, Mom.

    I should have noted that I doubled the garlic and used prepared horseradish instead of fresh. But that’s because I like garlicky pickles!

  3. Mary Ellen

    I have a great 2 day pickle recipe from my friend Nancy that I think you’d like…plus a sun pickle / salt water recipe from my Austrian grandmother which takes about 3 days in the sun. Shoot me an email at work and remind me🙂 LY, A. Mare

    love your recipes !

  4. Hey! I appreciated your comment on my blog. The book is written by Kim Tolley – Science Education of American Girls. I read it a couple of weeks ago. Good book.🙂

  5. farmersdaughterct

    Hi Auntie Mare- I’d love those recipes!

    Hi Academic- I really liked that book, very interesting from a science teacher’s viewpoint.

  6. Ramona Lloyd

    Do you have a recipe for sun pickles that calls for cream of tarter instead of alum? If so, have you tried it? Do you know what grape leaves do for pickles? I’ve seen some recipes that call for them too.

    Thanks for your time,

    Ramona

    • Sorry, I’m no help there! I believe grape leaves and cherry leaves act to keep them crisp, but I’ve never tried them. Honestly, I’m not experienced with canning pickles as I’ve never had a batch I really like.

  7. These are my favorite bread and butter pickles. They are what grandma would have made: http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/08/17/your-classic-bread-and-butter-pickles-2/
    They can be eaten in 24 hours–very quick!

Leave a Reply

