August Challenge

I just signed up to participate in Chile’s Discretionary Eating Challenge.  Click the image above to learn more about the challenge.  Here’s what I’ve committed to:

  • CAFE-  100%; I will not eat at restaurants for the month of August, and will instead cook at home.
  • LITE- 50%; I will remove 50% of the refined foods from my diet, and will instead cook from scratch.
  • SUGAR- 50%; I will remove 50% of the sugar from my diet, and instead will only use natural sweeteners like maple syrup and honey.  However, I will continue to use sugar to can, but I’ll look for recipes with honey first and see where it goes.
  • SOW- 50%; I will try my best to only eat seconds when hungry.  Notice that I only committed 50% to this one.  I like food, as you can probably tell from the amount of recipes I post.
  • BUZZ- 100%; I will remove the stimulants like alcohol, caffeine, and chocolate from my diet.  (Since I don’t drink alcohol or coffee, it’s only chocolate that I have to tackle.)
  • VEG- 0%; I won’t be joining in on being vegan or removing animal products from my diet.  I usually only eat meat at 1 meal a day, and I’m okay with that.  I don’t morally see anything wrong with eating meat or dairy products or eggs.  Clearly some people disagree, but that’s my opinion.  Besides, I’m doing a lot to remove the other bad habits I have.

So how many more days do I have to eat as much chocolate as possible??? Wish me luck!

5 Comments

Filed under Food, Sustainable Living

5 responses to “August Challenge

  1. Glad to have you in the challenge, Abbie. Regarding the veg part, it’s not a “moral” decision for me personally. My health seems to be much better when I avoid those foods. Doesn’t mean I miss them, just means I feel better.

    Now, as I just advised someone else planning to guzzle as much soda pop as possible in the next 3 days….BACK AWAY from the chocolate. LOL! Seriously, the more you gorge on it now, the worse the withdrawals will be.

    Yeah, I know. You couldn’t hear me because you were too busy eating some chocolate (and covering your ears.) 😉

  2. farmersdaughterct

    Hi Chile- I’m thinking that the VEG part for me may be a challenge to myself to try to eat more vegetables, different kinds, new ones that I haven’t had before, or cooking them in different ways. Good for you, feeling healthier eating vegan. I believe, as I do with religion, that everyone can believe and do whatever they want, and as long as they’re happy, fine. I like meat and that’s how it is for me, but I respect those who don’t. And as for that chocolate… I baked up a recipe from AVM- zucchini chocolate chip cookies. Hopefully, they’ll be all gone before the challenge begins.

  3. Abbie,
    Good for you! Chile also inpsired me. I signed up for 100% SOW and 50% less sweets. I started yesterday and feel so much better already! But………I really can’t talk now, I pulled an all-nighter working on my law paper and finance project for today’s Educational Leadership classes, so I really need my coffee! I just wish it would help! (Only one cup!)
    You really don’t like chocolate anyway, do you? Why don’t you share those zucchini CC cookies?
    Love ya!

  4. Way to go Abbie! Maybe I’ll give it a whirl too. Anyway, I am looking forward to updates about how this experience goes. We may go on a mini vacation later this month so I am afraid to commit to the no eating out part, although I hardly ever eat out anyway.

  5. Aunt Sara

    Hi Abbie,
    I’m starting my own food plan for the month of August. I am focusing on protein and vegetables, and totally eliminating trans fats and saturated fats (that means cheese!) and all processed foods. It will be interesting to see how I do.

    Best of luck swearing off the chocolate!

Leave a Reply

