Yankee Paella

I know, “Yankee Paella” is a strange title.  But I think that’s what it is.  I’ve never had real paella, instead sticking to what I make at home, so I’m not even sure what the real stuff is like.  However, I do know that Ed and I both love this supper, and love that there are lots of leftovers.  I started making paella in the winter, and tonight’s paella was the best I’ve made yet.

Paella with Chicken, Scallops and Chorizo

  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • salt, pepper and smoked paprika for seasoning
  • 2 chicken thighs (you could do 4 if you’re making it for more people)
  • 2 large links of Chorizo or Linguica sausage, sliced
  • 1 chopped onion
  • 5 minced cloves of garlic
  • 1 1/2 cups Valencia or Arborio rice
  • 3 cups chicken stock, water, or a combination of the two
  • 3 large garden tomatoes, chopped, or 16oz. canned tomatoes
  • 1 lb sea scallops
  • 1/2 cup peas
  • handful chopped parsley

Season the chicken with salt, pepper, and smoked paprika.  Brown in the olive oil in a Dutch oven (or paella pan if you have one, but I don’t).  Remove from pan, and brown the sliced Chorizo.  Add onions and saute until transparent and slightly browned.  Add the garlic and saute a few minutes.  Add the rice and saute until golden, stirring the whole time.  Add tomatoes and cook until they start to release their juices.  Return the chicken thighs to the pan.  Add 2 cups of chicken stock/water, 1/4 cup at a time, stirring until the liquid is absorbed.  Add the last 1 cup of stock/water.  Season the scallops with salt, pepper, and paprika, and add to the pan.  Bring to a rolling boil, then place in a 350 F preheated oven for 10 minutes.  Stir in the peas, and bake another 4-5 minutes.  Sprinkle with parsley and serve.

I think tonight’s paella was especially good because the onions were from Chris and Melissa’s garden, and the tomatoes, peas, and parsley were from our garden.  I’m not a big fan of peas, so sometimes I omit them.  You can also add wine or beer, just substitute it for part of the stock/water.  I don’t drink alcohol, so I skip it. 

Ed doesn’t like meals that are cooked all in one pot.  I don’t know why, but I think it’s a Yankee thing because both my dad and his dad are the same way.  Ed will eat this if I separate it out on his plate.  He loved this meal!

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Gardening, Recipes, What's for Supper?

2 responses to “Yankee Paella

  1. Hmm . . . I wonder whether I might be able to create a vegetarian paella because this certainly looks yummy. Thank goodness for your blog Abbie. You inspire me to get down in the kitchen (yes, I dance too).

    =)

  2. farmersdaughterct

    So much flavor comes from the chorizo. But I bet if you added chili pepper or red pepper flakes, you’d still get the spicy flavor without the meat. Oh I bet it would be good with more onions, some red or yellow peppers, and some eggplant or squash. If you try making it veggie style, let me know cause I’d love to try it sometime, too.

Leave a Reply

