Johnnycake Peach Cobbler

The peaches are ripe and it’s time to try out a recipe that I saw on TV a while ago.  I was watching an episode of Baking with Julia on PBS, and the guest baker made Johnnycake Cobblers.  They looked so delicious that I made a mental note to try them out during peach season.  Of course, when I went to look online for the recipe, it wasn’t to be found! So, I created my own by altering my biscuit recipe to include cornmeal and some honey.  It even resulted in a little bonus!

Johnnycake Peach Cobbler

  • 5 large, ripe peaches
  • dash cinnamon
  • 1 1/3 c. flour
  • 2/3 c. cornmeal
  • 2 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 6 Tbsp diced cold butter
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 Tbsp honey

Peel and slice peaches.  Mix with cinnamon and put in a small baking dish.  Combine dry ingredients in a medium bowl with a whisk.  Mix in the butter using your fingers.  Stir in the milk and honey.  This makes a wet dough.  Drop by heaping Tablespoons into sliced peaches.  Bake at 350 F for about 25-35 minutes, until fruit is bubbly and topping is golden brown.

The bonus… You won’t need all of the cornmeal dough to cover the top of the peaches.  Shape the remaining dough into 2-4 biscuits, depending on how much is left, and bake at 350 F for about 12 minutes until golden brown.  These are great served for breakfast with butter and jam.

4 Comments

Filed under Food, Local Agriculture, Recipes

4 responses to “Johnnycake Peach Cobbler

  1. Marie

    Yummo Ab, that looks so good!! I cannot believe it is peach season already!
    xo

  2. Wow! That looks awesome. I want to eat it all up – even though I HATE peaches!

  3. farmersdaughterct

    Marie- I know! I have some peach plans in the works…

    GB- How come you don’t like peaches? Is it because they’re fuzzy? My brother won’t eat anything that tastes like peach because he says it tastes fuzzy. I don’t like picking them, they make me itchy.

  4. MaryAnne

    I also saw the same episode of Julia and went searching for the recipe. Finding yours was a great help. I believe she used nectarines also. Thanks for putting it together.

Leave a Reply

