School Days

I’m back at work.  Yesterday was our first day back at school, and the students will begin on Thursday.  I have to say that I’m in pretty good shape for the start up, with my syllabi ready to be handed out, summer reading tests ready to go, and plans for the first couple of weeks done.  Here’s what I’ll be teaching this year:

  • 3 sections of Advanced Placement Environmental Science (full year)
  • 1 section of Environmental Science (full year)
  • 1 section of Botany (half year, in the fall)
  • 1 section of Honors Botany (half year, in the spring)

As I said to my department coordinator today, this is pretty much as close to my dream schedule as I have come in the 6 years that I’ve been a teacher.  I’ll miss teaching sophomore Biology, but I’m happy to have the ability to focus on these classes.

We’ve had professional development for the last couple of days, and it leaves me anxious to get back to the normal schedule.  While I’ve found the work we’ve done to be important, being back in my classroom makes me look forward to meeting my students and beginning our journey of learning together.

I have high hopes for this year, as I do for every year.  I want my Botany students to transform the empty greenhouse into a beautiful learning area, allowing the other classes to use the space as well.  I want to ignite a passion for the environment in my E.S. students, or maybe fuel a fire that’s already there.  I want to go on field trips and do projects and laboratory investigations, read articles and discuss hot topics.  I love to take my students outside to learn, and I know they enjoy it, too.  I’m excited for the school year to begin.

2 Comments

Filed under Outside, Sustainable Living

2 responses to “School Days

  1. I’m excited to learn right along with you and your students. So far, you’ve been a wonderful gardening and green living teacher for me. =)

  2. Abbie,
    That does seem like a dream schedule, especially for you! Your students and you have such an exciting year ahead of you all!

    I know what you mean about “itching” to see the students. I’ve been involved in Professional Development Activities at my school, too, for the past few days before our students arrive. I actually presented a workshop for our teachers today and although they were a great audience, I also sense that they’re ready to get on with the work with our students . . . and so am I!

    All the best for a great year of learning together!

Leave a Reply

