Challenge Update

It’s been about two weeks since my last update, so here goes!

Plant something.  

  • lettuce
  • carrots
  • spinach
  • broccoli
  • turnips

Harvest something. 

  • tomatoes
  • lettuce
  • sunflower seeds

Preserve something. 

Prep something. 

  • continue to research winter gardening
  • saved pumpkin seeds
  • saved sunflower seeds

Cook something new.  

Manage your reserves.  

  • used frozen turkey stock, leftover butternut squash and frozen corn in the soup 

Reduce waste.

  • continue to recycle, compost, carry reusable bags, and limit packaging
  • got our new reusable bags at the stand!

Work on local food systems. 

  • groceries from my family’s farm market
  • plans for the fair; our farm market display theme: “Go Green – Eat Local!”

Learn a new skill.

  • I don’t think so…

The Growing Challenge

I FINALLY got my fall garden in.  Read about it here.

I got a Wrap-N-Mat to wrap my sandwiches in.  It’s made of part plastic and part cotton, but it’s better than the disposable ziplocks every day.  I’ve also been bringing a cloth napkin to work with my lunch and in the car for my breakfast on the road.  I continue to use my SIGG for my water from home, although I will occasionally refill it from the Poland Spring cooler at work instead of the chloriney tasting tap.  I hate that chlorine taste.  It’s great to have a waste-free lunch, besides the apple cores, but I’m thinking of setting up a worm bin in my room to tackle that problem.  I think it would be a great learning experience for my students as well.

One thing that bothers me is the waste from my coworkers’ lunches.  Yogurt containers, soda cans, ziplock bags, snack containers, granola bar wrappers, plastic bottles, plastic utensils and chip bags.  It’s amazing how much you notice all the waste when you get rid of it yourself.  I haven’t said anything to any of my friends, but I’m trying to be a good role model and hope that they’ll follow suit.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Gardening, Home, Local Agriculture, Sustainable Living

Leave a Reply

