Caramel Apple Butter

My mom brought over a whole crate of apples that we picked last weekend for our fair display.  Today, I used about half of them to make applesauce and decided to try something a little different as well.  I remembered Laura’s post about Caramel Pear Butter, and I thought Caramel Apple Butter sounds really good! I made a few changes, like substituting cinnamon for the nutmeg, and it came out really great. I ended up with 9 pints of applesauce and 2 1/2 pints of caramel apple butter.

  • 10 large apples, peeled, cored and chopped
  • 6 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt

In a large pot, combine the apples, 4 Tbsp of the lemon juice and water.  Cook over medium heat until soft, like with applesauce.  This will take about 20 minutes.  Push the apples through a seive or use a food mill.  Combine the apples with the remaining ingredients and simmer over low for about an hour until thick.  Ladel into sterilized pint jars and then process in a boiling water canner for 15 minutes.  Makes about 2 1/2 pints.

6 Comments

Filed under Food, Local Agriculture, Recipes, Sustainable Living

6 responses to “Caramel Apple Butter

  1. Wow, Ab, you were BUSY! I just knew the apples would be put to better use at your house! I’m sure the applesauce and caramel apple butter will have a PRIZEWINNING taste!

  2. Why oh why didn’t you post this last week when I had bags upon bags of apples!?!? Now, I’ll need to buy a bunch at the farmers’ market because I MUST try this recipe. Looks delicious.

  3. Thank you Abbie for sharing! I can’t wait to try this one with Matt and Annabelle. Judging by the ingredients, it certainly looks like a tasty treat to make for the cold weather ahead of us.

  4. Mom- It’s all the peeling and slicing that takes time!

    GB- I didn’t invent this recipe until now! Yeah, anything with the words “caramel” and “apple” is something that I must try.

    Amy- Hope you try it next time you’re in a canning mood!

    Jessica- Try it out! I promise you’ll love it🙂

Leave a Reply

