Vegetable Garden Update

We’re still picking lettuce, tomatoes, parsley, chives, and the occasional green bean.  The carrots look like they might be ready soon, and I’ll pull one up to check on them this weekend.  The little seedlings that I planted back in September are what’s really exciting! The idea of picking these veggies late into the fall is so wonderful!

Turnips

Broccoli

Spinach

Lettuce

This afternoon was so crisp and beautiful that I just had to get outside into the garden.  I weeded, which was a task after all the rain we’ve had, and thinned the lettuce, broccoli, spinach and carrots.  After that was done, I sat in the warm sun and started reading Eliot Coleman’s Four-Season Harvest.  I’m enjoying it so far, and it’s so encouraging to read about a family in Maine that has fresh vegetables from their garden year-round.  If they can do it, then certainly it can be done in Connecticut.  From the book:

Once the year-round harvest has begun to flow, the productivity is unbelievable.  Let’s say you want fresh salads every day from your garden.  There are about two dozen popular salad crops, all of them easily grown in the home garden.  Some, such as tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers, and New Zealand spinach, are limited to the warm months.  Others, such as lettuce, beets, cabbage, scallions, and Swiss chard, are spring, summer, and fall crops.  Spinach, radishes, kohlrabi, mizuna, and peas do best in the cool months.  Mâche, sorrel, arugula, escarole, endive, chicory, and claytonia will feed you daily from the winter garden even in the coldest climates.  Carrots, parsley, onions, and sorrel can be harvested almost year-round.  The edges of those categories will overlap depending on your climatic zone, but the message is clear:  year-round fresh salads offer all the variety anyone could want.

Wow! I’m so excited to eat salad from my garden all year long. I don’t know if we’ll accomplish it this year, but the fall garden is certainly a step in the right direction.

5 Comments

Filed under Food, Gardening, Outside, Sustainable Living

5 responses to “Vegetable Garden Update

  1. What a great thing to try, maybe next year I’ll try this in my garden in England.

    I do grow salad on my windowsill, and sprout seeds – but I think I’ll be a bit more experimental – late baby carrots would be a treat!

  2. Pingback: Pages tagged "garden"

  3. Good for you! I only wound up having the lettuce come up, but learned a great deal to be ready for next year… if I had known that I could, I would have planted more peas!!!

  4. Happy Gardener- I have a friend in London who’s been doing the same, growing herbs and salad greens in her window box. I would really recommend the book, because in it he talks not only about the US but also about Europe.

    Laura- I’m not sure about your area, but here we’re still able to put peas in the ground for a fall crop. I’ve got enough in the freezer, since I’m not really a pea eater… I like the pods. We can plant peas as early as St. Patty’s day here.

  5. I have never planted turnips; I should give that a try. Our garden has been cleared and tilled for next spring already.

Leave a Reply

