Planting Daffodil Bulbs

I’ve been day dreaming about daffodils lately.  This is the time of year to plant the bulbs, so I picked a spot right under this black cherry tree on the edge of the lawn.  I bought 100 bulbs for naturalizing and planted them all.  I tried not to plant them in straight rows, and instead tossed them on the ground and planted them where they landed.  I figured it would look more natural, but I guess we’ll see when they come up in the spring.

I bought the bulbs from White Flower Farm.  I like to buy from them because they are a local gardening supplier and I’ve had success with their plants before.  Last fall, I planted peonies, a white bleeding heart, roses and hydrangeas from them, and I was pleased with all of the results.  I chose the “Professional’s Naturalizing Daffodil Mix,” which is made up of 19 different varieties and should double in size in two years, and then again two years after that.  My hope is that these daffodils will be a wonderful, bright and cheery part of spring for many years to come.  Here’s a picture of this mixture from their website.

I would also like to put in a bee, bird and butterfly friendly garden in this area next summer.  I’ve been doing a little research about it when I have time, and so far the plants I’m thinking of including are cosmos, black-eyed susans, zinnias, purple coneflowers, butterfly bush, bee balm, asters and daisies.  Do you have any other suggestions for what else I should plant here?

4 Comments

Filed under Gardening, Home, Outside, Sustainable Living

4 responses to “Planting Daffodil Bulbs

  1. Awesome! Borage and lavender were much enjoyed by our bees and butterflies this year as were some of the smaller sunflowers mixed in with the rest of the flowers. I have to admit that I had a lot of flowers that I didn’t know what they were. I supplemented my butterfly garden’s planned flowers with a couple packages of butterfly seed mixes.

    We had so many different species of butterflies, skippers and native bees this year with our garden. Good luck with your garden!

  2. Abbie, those are all great plants! I put in parsley, dill and fennel for host plants. I have a photo somewhere of a fennel plant covered in about 30 or so caterpillars. I also like lantana, but the plant that I most love is agastache, tutti frutti– the hummingbirds LOVE it. Any of the other hyssops will attract bees and butterflies as well. Added bonus….. the goldfinches love the seeds of anise hyssop. Another good one is butterfly weed. In the fall it gets really neat seed pods that burst open and all the seeds fly away like dandelion seeds. Oh, and russian sage as well as May Night sage. Happy gardening! Sorry for rambling!

  3. I have planted butterfly weed (asclepios?) which is a tame version of milkweed, really, and of course it was excellent for attracting them, and also serves as a host plant for monarchs. Autumn Joy sedum was the other one that always seems to have a lot of butterflies and bees on it. I don’t think of it as a field flower, but more of a border plant. Still, if you had it somewhere on your property they would certainly find it. The beebalm and asters are very nice in a natrualized setting, especially at the edge of a woods, as is phlox.

  4. “And then my heart with pleasure fills and dances with the daffodils!” Daffodils are probably my favorite flower — their bright blooms fill my heart with joy every spring, sprouting from new fallen (or melting old) snow and bring life and color to an otherwise barren world.

Leave a Reply

