DIY Halloween Costumes

I always love to make my own Halloween costumes.  Growing up, I was always a princess, bride, or mermaid.  Something girly and pretty.  In high school, I got into scary costumes as a part of our farm’s haunted hayride, so I loved doing scary make up, black shredded clothes, and crazy hair. 

Last night, we went to our friends Alicia and Vinny’s costume party.  I made a mermaid costume and Ed was a fisherman.  I wanted to make a costume that would be inexpensive and made mostly of things I already had.  First I thought I’d be a hippy, since I have a brown flowered dress that would be perfect.  But when I went into my closet to try on the dress, I spotted a turquoise dress that I bought over a year ago and never wore.  I knew it would make the perfect mermaid costume! I used glitter paint to paint scales all over the dress and used metalic and sheer fabric to make fins.  I had to do most of the sewing by hand because the slippery fabric kept jamming the machine, but that was fine.  Ed wore his fishing jacket, but I couldn’t get him to wear the waders.  I think we made a cute pair.

My friend Alicia made her own costumes, too.  She was an Almond Joy and Vinny was a Mounds.  Here are some pictures!

Alicia as Almond Joy and me as mermaid

Mermaid and fisherman

Close-up of the scales

Next week, all of the science teachers are dressing up as elements from the periodic table for Halloween at school.  I’m going to be gold, so I’ll be sure to post pictures of that DIY costume, too.

I brought s’more brownies to the party, and they were a big hit!

4 Comments

Filed under Sewing, Sustainable Living

4 responses to “DIY Halloween Costumes

  1. Pingback: Scary Halloween » Blog Archive » DIY Halloween Costumes

  2. Adorable and creative! Your costume idea really makes me wish that I would sit down and learn how to sew. My plan this year is to be a butterfly (wearing all black clothing and a pair of secondhand wings) since my little one is dressing up as a ladybug. Her buddy is trick or treating with us and he is dressing up as a bee. So we’re going as a swarm of bugs. Fun stuff, huh?

    Anyway, what a great post to kick off the Halloween week!

  3. Rob

    I am going to make my own trick or treat costume this year- I am going as a Striking Machinist since my union is on strike!

  4. Cute costumes!

    Science teachers as elements–that’s hilarious! Do post pics!

Leave a Reply

