It’s Pioneer Week!

Hitch \

As if Freezing my Buns weren’t enough, I’ve signed up for another one of Crunchy Chicken’s challenges.  This one, however, only lasts a week, so I’m pretty sure I’ll be able to do it!  CC asks us to be live as much like pioneers as possible in each of the following areas:

  1. Food
  2. Energy Usage
  3. Water Conservation
  4. Transportation
  5. Rethink your Entertainment
  6. Watch your Wallet

While it should be easy for me to cook from scratch, there are things that I’ll have to make which I normally don’t, like bread.  In terms of energy use, I have to drive to work and to my one class on Wednesday night, but I plan to stay home other than that.  The heat’s already down due to my other challenge, so that’s as far as I’m willing to go! I’ll have to lose the long, hot bath habit that reappeared after the Crunchy Domestic Goddess’s 5-minute Shower Challenge ended.  I’m also going to quit TV for the week.  That’s right! No TV!!! I can’t say the same for Ed, as I’m sure he’ll watch it.  And I just cannot give up the computer, but I’ll do my best to limit my use, since I use my computer all day at school.  Finally, in terms of watching my wallet, no problem! I can’t afford to buy anything anyway!

You may be wondering what I’ll be doing for fun if I can’t watch TV.  Well, I’m planning to work on making some of my Christmas presents.  No details… I don’t want to give them away! Let’s just say I’ll be knitting.  I’ll also be reading, grading papers, and hitting the hay early!

3 Comments

Filed under Sustainable Living

3 responses to “It’s Pioneer Week!

  1. This actually sounds kind of restful!

  2. I like the idea to work on Christmas presents. I spent a few hours yesterday and got my thank you notes from the wedding almost done so now I can move on to something else. Good idea – thanks!

  3. Darn it! I totally forgot about that. I remembered this weekend for preparing cooking stuff but the rest . . . Oh well. I can say I haven’t watched TV in a while. Been ALL over the Internet, though, reading about this pesky election.

Leave a Reply

