Be Thankful

Inspired by Joyce’s challenge to be thankful during the month of November, I’m going to write about some of the things I’m thankful for.

 

I’m thankful for my husband.  Ed is supportive, caring, strong, and my best friend.  This month marks our seventh year together, and also the first anniversary of moving into our house.

I’m thankful that I have a family who loves each other, lives nearby, and whose company I enjoy.  I’m close with my mom, dad, brothers, grandparents, aunts, uncles and cousins.  I’m also thankful that the family I married into has similar values to my own family and has welcomed me with open arms. 

I’m thankful for our home.  It took a long time to save up, decide to build, design, plan, and build our house.  While it’s still in the works and will most likely never be done, it’s wonderful to be living here.  To be in a warm, safe home is one of the things that I’m most thankful for.

I’m thankful for my education, which has given me incredible opportunities and enriched my life.  Not only do I enjoy reading, but I enjoy writing, learning about all different topics, solving mathematical problems, and exploring our planet and the universe.  The only topic I don’t particularly enjoy is history, but I’m learning to appreciate it.

I’m thankful for my career.  I am genuinely happy at work most days, even on the most stressful and crazy ones.  There are of course tough times, but I love what I do and feel like I really do make a difference in the lives of my students.  In addition, I have job security, a wonderful schedule and great benefits.

Finally, I’m thankful that we have everything we need.  Shelter, clothing, food, and love.

4 Comments

Filed under Home, Sustainable Living

4 responses to “Be Thankful

  1. You’re right, you have a lot to be thankful for! Thanks for posting- I have you linked up.

  2. I too am thankful for my hubby for sure. I can really relate to the part about the house too. Even though your house is new and our house is old, it feels like our house will never be done either. When we were picking out cabinet hardware at Lowe’s an older woman overheard us and commented, “Don’t worry if you don’t like it too much, you’ll be back in 10 years doing it over again anyway!”
    I certainly hope not!! I’ll just be happy when ever light switch has a cover (that matches!) and there aren’t bare wires hanging anywhere in the house. Here’s to the fact that at least it really does feel like home!🙂

  3. Ruth

    Abbie,

    You and Ed have worked so hard for your new home and you deserve it! You two make a house a home!

    I’m SO thankful for an incredible daughter like you and all of our loved ones!

    You and Joyce have inspired me to do a “thankful” post, too! November is a great time to reflect!

    Love always,
    Mom

  4. Nice post! I’m liking your blog and content.

Leave a Reply

